Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
My family and I adored this. No more canned sauce for us! I did have to use about twice the amount of ground beef as the recipe seems to make quite a bit of sauce. I quickly discovered that I didn't have the white vinegar, dijon mustard or brown sugar so I used rice vinegar, spicy brown mustard, and plain white sugar. I did mix all of the ingredients for the sauce together beforehand, let them marry while I was browning the beef, then added it as directed. I sprinkled salt and chili powder onto the meat as it cooked, and added minced garlic and a few spices to balance the flavors to my family's taste. Love on a bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
For those who said it was too "ketchup-y"... did you let it simmer for the full 20-30 minutes? At first it does taste like ketchup, but after simmering for a while the flavors blend really well. My kids loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Loved this! I never made sloppy joes that weren't in can before, so this was great. Everyone loved it and went back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was delicious!!! I only used 1 cup of ketchup and a little extra brown sugar. Also, I didn't have any hot sauce but it was great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
really good...a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I've been using this recipe as the starting point for (vegetarian) homemade sloppy joe's for years now. Making this recipe vegetarian is easy, cuts out most of the fat, and no one has ever been able to tell it's vegetarian until I tell them. Also, not having to brown the ground beef cuts out a step; I make this recipe in about 20 minutes including prep. Changes I make: sauté 1/2 of a chopped onion (any kind will do) using non-stick spray, add 1 chopped bell pepper (any color will do), replace 1 pound ground beef with 1 package of meatless meat, skip the Worcestershire sauce (to keep it vegetarian), and use whatever type of vinegar I feel like using that day (usually cider or white balsamic). Everything else stays roughly the same. Roughly because I don't actually measure anything when making this. I eyeball the amounts listed, mix it all up, taste it, add more of whatever needs to be added. It's great on onion buns, Kaiser rolls, or whole wheat buns as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Absolutely delicious made just as written. I have adapted this same recipe using stew meat in the crock pot and then shredded the beef for sandwiches for my husband's lunch, thanks for sharing! Will never go back to packaged Joes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Day two leftovers, I made some macaroni and poured sloppy joes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
DEFINITELY BETTER THAN THE CAN BRAND! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made these for a late lunch yesterday and they are fab!!! My two picky eaters loved them. My son said he does not like Sloppy joes but when he ate it he said he was so surprised because they were amazing... That is his word "Amazing"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aeyla64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States