Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was delicious!!! I only used 1 cup of ketchup and a little extra brown sugar. Also, I didn't have any hot sauce but it was great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
really good...a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I've been using this recipe as the starting point for (vegetarian) homemade sloppy joe's for years now. Making this recipe vegetarian is easy, cuts out most of the fat, and no one has ever been able to tell it's vegetarian until I tell them. Also, not having to brown the ground beef cuts out a step; I make this recipe in about 20 minutes including prep. Changes I make: sauté 1/2 of a chopped onion (any kind will do) using non-stick spray, add 1 chopped bell pepper (any color will do), replace 1 pound ground beef with 1 package of meatless meat, skip the Worcestershire sauce (to keep it vegetarian), and use whatever type of vinegar I feel like using that day (usually cider or white balsamic). Everything else stays roughly the same. Roughly because I don't actually measure anything when making this. I eyeball the amounts listed, mix it all up, taste it, add more of whatever needs to be added. It's great on onion buns, Kaiser rolls, or whole wheat buns as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Absolutely delicious made just as written. I have adapted this same recipe using stew meat in the crock pot and then shredded the beef for sandwiches for my husband's lunch, thanks for sharing! Will never go back to packaged Joes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Day two leftovers, I made some macaroni and poured sloppy joes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
DEFINITELY BETTER THAN THE CAN BRAND! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I made these for a late lunch yesterday and they are fab!!! My two picky eaters loved them. My son said he does not like Sloppy joes but when he ate it he said he was so surprised because they were amazing... That is his word "Amazing"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aeyla64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Overall, this was a good recipe as written. However, the only thing I didn't like was there was too much dijon mustard, so next time I will half the mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These sloppy joes were good, but EXTREMELY RICH TASTING!! That is why I'm giving this recipe only 4 stars. The amount of ketchup added was a bit much, and it overpowdered the taste of the sloppy joes, and I only added 1-1/4 cups of the ketchup. Also, a word of warning, if you don't like your sloppy joes too 'hot' & spicy, I'd reduce the amount of the hot sauce, as I thought the 1 teaspoon gave the sloppy joes alot of heat. The next time I decide to make these sloppy joes, I'm going to just use 1 cup of the ketchup, 1-1/4 cups of a mild salsa, and add 1/2 a teaspoon of the hot sauce. Also, I wanted to mention, I did simmer the sloppy joes for 25 minutes, to help reduce the liquid, and I did add some diced onion when cooking the meat. I can't imagine having bbq's or sloppy joes with out any onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Sorry, but not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States