Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Other than sauteing an onion and a good amount of garlic in butter with the meat and adding a little liquid smoke, this is hands down the best sloppy joe filling I've ever had. I topped this with shredded sharp cheddar and toasted the buns a bit to make them hold up a little better. This is my new sloppy joe recipe. Even my husband who loves that nasty canned junk loved this. AWESOME. NOTE: If you don't like all that ketchup, think about cutting the ketchup in half and using either chili sauce or BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Oh, wow! Back in college, when I thought that Sloppy Joes grew in cans, the dish didn’t seem fit for human consumption. Now, I’m thinking that canned versions simply can’t compete with the real thing, plus … well, why waste money at the market when this dish is quick, easy & inexpensive? I recently made it for the 5th time and loved seeing my husband & guests return for more. When salsa hasn’t been onhand, Pico De Gallo (for which there are several excellent recipes at this site) has worked great, and on one occasion I used Rotel tomatoes (the type with lime juice & cilantro)—also excellent. I guess there’s no way to ruin this recipe, for which I’m *very* grateful to LV & her mom-in-law. (Thanks, as well, to photographer Avon Lady, whose shot portrays the dish 100% accurately—thick, non-greasy & delightful on big fluffy buns which, like another reviewer, I serve lightly toasted.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made these tonight on the advice of several on the RE and they didn't disappoint. I made a double batch and froze half for another time. I didn't measure the ketchup or salsa and think I might have used a bit less than the recipe states, but I definitely got all the flavor. I also used white wine vinegar instead of plain vinegar. I added some red pepper flakes to mine for a bit of added top heat. I wasn't looking for a Southwest flavor in these and fortunately, the salsa just adds the tomato and onion flavor. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
made as written, very good.but next time I will use less catsup, and will add 1/2 tsp chili powder and some garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I really like the addition of chunky salsa in this recipe, instead of regular tomato sauce. I used thick and chunky hot salsa, it was great. I served it on homemade rolls, and with crisp potato wedges on the side. The entire family loved this one, even our picky 2 year old. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shantal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I truly enjoyed this recipe. I was afraid the salsa might make it taste too "southwest" but it was just right... and I didn't have to add onions as I do on the recipe I usually use. It's tangy and sweet as sloppy joes are supposed to be. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Wow. Seriously. This is THE only sloppy joe recipe I have ever liked. EVER. My picky husband even said they were REALLY REALLY good. Amazing! I did add some onion and hamburger seasoning to adjust for our tastes a bit, but it was only a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Make a double batch and freeze it for another time....try this, so good! This tasted so different from the canned stuff, nice rich flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This stuff is fantastic! I'll never get the canned mix again. The salsa is a great addition and really lets you control the spiciness. We love spicy, so hot salsa and a little extra hot sauce made this delicious for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Really quick and delicious. This was perfect for a hot evening since it's one pan and cooks quickly. I don't really like dijon mustard but I wanted to be true to the recipe so I added it. You can't detect it specifically and it probably did add to the overall taste so I am glad I put it in. I did add onion powder and garlic powder but it probably didn't need it so don't sweat it if you don't have any. Make it as written and enjoy! UPDATE: I now have custody of my 6 and 7 year old granddaughters. I was afraid these might be too spicy or tangy for them. I don't find them too spicy or tangy but I fixed them without the hot pepper and held my breath and my girls LOVED them! Fix them, serve them, enjoy them. This recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States