Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
When I read this recipe I thought oh no too much ketchup. But, I made it exactly as written, and I thought it was wonderful. My husband was ecstatic; absolutely loved these. Will be making them often throughout the fall and winter!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I used slightly less ketchup and I used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. This was one of the best sloppy joes I've ever had in my life. I'm pretty sure this is how I will be making them from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
So good and so easy! Nice little kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Murdock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
The only helpful hint I could provide is use 2 lbs. of meat instead of one. There is too much sauce for the amount of meat suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Another AR user recommended these as her favorite beef recipe on the site. Boy, do they live up to that sentiment! So delicious! These will go into regular rotation on our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is hands down the best sloppy joe recipe around. I will never make sloppy joe any other way. The addition of salsa and ketchup makes it simple to throw together yet you would never guess they are in there. Whenever I make this it is gone in no time with requests for more, more, more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
1 1/3 lbs of ground beef. 1 cup of chili sauce instead of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
My daughter told me these were even better than her school's and this was after she went on and on about how great school made sloppy joes. These were GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Emmett, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
My family and I adored this. No more canned sauce for us! I did have to use about twice the amount of ground beef as the recipe seems to make quite a bit of sauce. I quickly discovered that I didn't have the white vinegar, dijon mustard or brown sugar so I used rice vinegar, spicy brown mustard, and plain white sugar. I did mix all of the ingredients for the sauce together beforehand, let them marry while I was browning the beef, then added it as directed. I sprinkled salt and chili powder onto the meat as it cooked, and added minced garlic and a few spices to balance the flavors to my family's taste. Love on a bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
For those who said it was too "ketchup-y"... did you let it simmer for the full 20-30 minutes? At first it does taste like ketchup, but after simmering for a while the flavors blend really well. My kids loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States