Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made these tonight on the advice of several on the RE and they didn't disappoint. I made a double batch and froze half for another time. I didn't measure the ketchup or salsa and think I might have used a bit less than the recipe states, but I definitely got all the flavor. I also used white wine vinegar instead of plain vinegar. I added some red pepper flakes to mine for a bit of added top heat. I wasn't looking for a Southwest flavor in these and fortunately, the salsa just adds the tomato and onion flavor. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I truly enjoyed this recipe. I was afraid the salsa might make it taste too "southwest" but it was just right... and I didn't have to add onions as I do on the recipe I usually use. It's tangy and sweet as sloppy joes are supposed to be. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was a great recipe for our helpers when my daughter moved into her new home. Everybody loved it and it was very easy to make. Thanks so much for the recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Excellent! My 18-year-old son made these for dinner. I added this to our family favorites. Thanks for sharing! UPDATE: I sauteed onion and red pepper with the ground beef. Drained off grease before adding remaining ingredients. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Good sloppy joes! Made these for my fiance and I tonight. Nothing beats good 'ol sloppy sandwiches for SuperBowl game watching!!! My fiance was on the fence about these, but mind you, he doesn't care for "sloppy" stuff (who knew?). I would have thought sloppy joes are the "ideal" man food, but I guess that's not the case for EVERY man lol.... Having said this, although I like LV's version, I prefer mine a little better.... My version calls for a lb. of ground beef, 1 1/3 c. chunky salsa, a can of condensed tomato soup and a T of brown sugar - that's all. It's pretty basic, and that's what I like about it. Both taste similar, but these are a tad tangier (which I don't like). I really don't see the point in adding vinegar, mustard or hot sauce since they barely added anything to the end product (again, these taste a lot like my basic recipe). Oh, and be sure to use chunky salsa, not the soupy cheap stuff. It really makes a difference (and will make your joes a lot sloppier if you don't). Serving these on toasted kaiser rolls (brush cut rolls with a mixture of melted butter / garlic powder and broil for a minute or two), took these to the next level, IMHO. With the addition of a side of seasoned waffle fries, I had dinner on the table in no time flat (and more time to watch the game!!!). Thanks for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Excellent! I found it needed less vinegar & ketchup than was listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I tripled this recipe. There was a lot of extra sauce so I added 1 chopped green pepper, 1 chopped yellow onion, and 1.5 pounds more meat. Shredded cheddar was a lovely addition. Toasting the rolls is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epicureangela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I used mild salsa and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
As far as Sloppy Joes goes, this was fantastic! I did use less ketchup and added a little chili sauce, and I also didn't have any hot sauce so I added a few dashes of red pepper flakes. Sweet, tangy, and a bit spicy-best Sloppy Joes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
These were good- the salsa gave them a nice tang and made them a little different. Hubby loved them and thought they were the best I've made yet- I personally think I prefer the sloppy joes II from this site. However, I will likely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States