Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
FANTASTIC!!! I used ground turkey and only 1 c ketchup because I ran out. I'm glad I did though, another 1/2 cup would have been too much ketchup for our taste. Thanks for sharing, this is my new go-to joe recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Let's just say that after making this I will no longer buy any sloppy joe mix out of a can! I took tat's suggestions of adding some garlic and a couple of dashes of liquid smoke. I also toasted my kaiser rolls. So so good. like I said - no more canned joes for my crew! I love how I'll be able to mess with this in the future by varying the kind of salsa I use. This time I used a super chunky medium, which was great. Next time my husband and I agreed to try a black bean and corn type for something a little different. Can't wait - this was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I gave it four stars because it turned out VERY salty. The ketchup, Worcestershire, and mustard contain a lot of salt. I think the brands I used had extra. Next time, I will use a canned tomato sauce instead of ketchup and pay close attention to the sodium content. Otherwise, great flavor! The hot sauce and salsa add a nice zing to it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapphire

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These were very good!! Will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
These sloppy joes are awesome!! I will not buy the packet from the store anymore. I did add some extra hot sauce though! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made these tonight on the advice of several on the RE and they didn't disappoint. I made a double batch and froze half for another time. I didn't measure the ketchup or salsa and think I might have used a bit less than the recipe states, but I definitely got all the flavor. I also used white wine vinegar instead of plain vinegar. I added some red pepper flakes to mine for a bit of added top heat. I wasn't looking for a Southwest flavor in these and fortunately, the salsa just adds the tomato and onion flavor. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I truly enjoyed this recipe. I was afraid the salsa might make it taste too "southwest" but it was just right... and I didn't have to add onions as I do on the recipe I usually use. It's tangy and sweet as sloppy joes are supposed to be. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was a great recipe for our helpers when my daughter moved into her new home. Everybody loved it and it was very easy to make. Thanks so much for the recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Excellent! My 18-year-old son made these for dinner. I added this to our family favorites. Thanks for sharing! UPDATE: I sauteed onion and red pepper with the ground beef. Drained off grease before adding remaining ingredients. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Good sloppy joes! Made these for my fiance and I tonight. Nothing beats good 'ol sloppy sandwiches for SuperBowl game watching!!! My fiance was on the fence about these, but mind you, he doesn't care for "sloppy" stuff (who knew?). I would have thought sloppy joes are the "ideal" man food, but I guess that's not the case for EVERY man lol.... Having said this, although I like LV's version, I prefer mine a little better.... My version calls for a lb. of ground beef, 1 1/3 c. chunky salsa, a can of condensed tomato soup and a T of brown sugar - that's all. It's pretty basic, and that's what I like about it. Both taste similar, but these are a tad tangier (which I don't like). I really don't see the point in adding vinegar, mustard or hot sauce since they barely added anything to the end product (again, these taste a lot like my basic recipe). Oh, and be sure to use chunky salsa, not the soupy cheap stuff. It really makes a difference (and will make your joes a lot sloppier if you don't). Serving these on toasted kaiser rolls (brush cut rolls with a mixture of melted butter / garlic powder and broil for a minute or two), took these to the next level, IMHO. With the addition of a side of seasoned waffle fries, I had dinner on the table in no time flat (and more time to watch the game!!!). Thanks for sharing! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States