Rubbed Down Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Even though we are garlic lovers in this house, after reading the reviews of others, I decided to make a few changes to the recipe. Instead of the 2 tbsp of garlic powder, I sprinkled garlic powder, along with salt and pepper over the chops (so used less than 1 tsp total), then I rubbed in the minced garlic as called for, into the chops. I then browned the chops as Mitzi8 suggested, and then added the water and worchestershire sauce mixture, along with 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar to the browned chops. While the chops were simmering, I sauteed the mushrooms (doubled the amount) and onions in a small skillet in 2 tsp of butter, and added them to the chops with about 5 minutes left in the cooking. The result was delicious - my husband gave it 'the highest stars.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Loved it, loved it, loved it. so easy and quick to make and my husband was sucking bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
loved it, i added a little more garlic (minced) and some extra worcestershire sauce! But overall loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I am so glad I found it; my boyfriend and I love it! The garlic makes it soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
My husband makes this recipe, I got him to cook one day while he was home from work due to inclimate weather. I was VERY impressed, and he now calls himself a good cook! :) This is a definate keeper. Very tender juicy pork chops with a kick. May need to cut Garlic in half, it is a bit much, we did the second time around. We were quite stinky for a day or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLR1331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CooksW/Love
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was De-Li-cious! If you love garlic this is just excellent. I followed the measurements for dry spices as directed and used about 5 cloves of garlic and smothered them on one side of each chop after rubbing them down with the spices. I browned them first an sauted the onion rings & mushrooms in butter flavored cooking spray and tablespoon of butter as other reviewers suggested. Even though I think I slightly overcooked them, the worchestire sauce mixture, kept the chops moist. My husband and I really enjoyed these and will definately make again, with more mushrooms and more sauce. I plan on slicing up the left over 2 chops and toasting them in a sandwich roll w/ more sauted onion, mushroom, bellpeppers and cheese! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooksW/Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
A great new date/company staple - cook time is perfect, and so easy! I heeded the advice about the garlic -- just sprinkled my chops with a little garlic powder, salt and pepper, and tossed on some lemon pepper, and rubbed that all in, and followed the rest of the instructions. The onions weren't quite done at the end, so I removed the chops and added in a little butter (hee), salt and pepper to give them a flavor boost. Next time I'd double the sauce recipe and serve over mashed potatoes. Moist, juicy, and the flavor was delicate and not overpowering. I think this is as about as spectacular as it's going to get if I'm doing the cooking - Y-U-M!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I really enjoyed this -- great taste, really easy to prepare. I did it precisely as prescribed. Perhaps my stove was too hot, as the sauce dried out by the end of the cook time. I added a bit of red wine towards the end to revive, and all was well. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
very good! instead of putting mine in a skillet, I baked them. I rubbed the pork with the dry ingredients and put them in the oven 350x45minutes. While they were baking I put the minced garlic, worchestershire sauce, and water in a saucepan to heat up, then drizzled it on top when the chops were done. I omitted the onion and mushrooms. But fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States