Rubbed Down Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is a good recipe, but I altered it, and will do further alteration. First, I cut the salt in half, and because I was out of garlic (out of garlic? What the heck!?!?) I used only powdered garlic. At the end of cooking, I pulled the chops and most of the mushrooms and onions out of the skillet and kept warm in the oven. I thickened the sauce with corn starch, and added some milk. The sauce was still QUITE spicy ... too much black pepper. The next time I make it will be with fresh garlic, and half the pepper. I also made stuffing (OK - Stovetop stuffing) with carrots and served the chops and stuffing w/carrots with the sauce on top, quite a good and tasty meal, for not very much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
My husband makes this recipe, I got him to cook one day while he was home from work due to inclimate weather. I was VERY impressed, and he now calls himself a good cook! :) This is a definate keeper. Very tender juicy pork chops with a kick. May need to cut Garlic in half, it is a bit much, we did the second time around. We were quite stinky for a day or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLR1331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Even though we are garlic lovers in this house, after reading the reviews of others, I decided to make a few changes to the recipe. Instead of the 2 tbsp of garlic powder, I sprinkled garlic powder, along with salt and pepper over the chops (so used less than 1 tsp total), then I rubbed in the minced garlic as called for, into the chops. I then browned the chops as Mitzi8 suggested, and then added the water and worchestershire sauce mixture, along with 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar to the browned chops. While the chops were simmering, I sauteed the mushrooms (doubled the amount) and onions in a small skillet in 2 tsp of butter, and added them to the chops with about 5 minutes left in the cooking. The result was delicious - my husband gave it 'the highest stars.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I am so glad I found it; my boyfriend and I love it! The garlic makes it soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Good flavor; an easy recipe to follow and very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
We liked this recipe. I used 32 ounces of mushrooms and the same amount of Worsestershire and water. I browned then removed the chops adding them once again after the vegetables were cooked. I then cooked the pork for 10 minutes and thickened the sauce with flour to go over rice. Served with fresh green beans and baked bread. Easy to prepare. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MITZI8
Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
loved it, i added a little more garlic (minced) and some extra worcestershire sauce! But overall loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Good flavor for the pork! Left out the onions and mushrooms due to time constraints but otherwise pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan, Utah, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I think this was very tasty and my meat stayed moist. I'll use the left overs for a casserole. It's a great seasoning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Loved it, loved it, loved it. so easy and quick to make and my husband was sucking bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States