Rubbed Down Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is a good recipe, but I altered it, and will do further alteration. First, I cut the salt in half, and because I was out of garlic (out of garlic? What the heck!?!?) I used only powdered garlic. At the end of cooking, I pulled the chops and most of the mushrooms and onions out of the skillet and kept warm in the oven. I thickened the sauce with corn starch, and added some milk. The sauce was still QUITE spicy ... too much black pepper. The next time I make it will be with fresh garlic, and half the pepper. I also made stuffing (OK - Stovetop stuffing) with carrots and served the chops and stuffing w/carrots with the sauce on top, quite a good and tasty meal, for not very much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
My husband makes this recipe, I got him to cook one day while he was home from work due to inclimate weather. I was VERY impressed, and he now calls himself a good cook! :) This is a definate keeper. Very tender juicy pork chops with a kick. May need to cut Garlic in half, it is a bit much, we did the second time around. We were quite stinky for a day or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLR1331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Even though we are garlic lovers in this house, after reading the reviews of others, I decided to make a few changes to the recipe. Instead of the 2 tbsp of garlic powder, I sprinkled garlic powder, along with salt and pepper over the chops (so used less than 1 tsp total), then I rubbed in the minced garlic as called for, into the chops. I then browned the chops as Mitzi8 suggested, and then added the water and worchestershire sauce mixture, along with 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar to the browned chops. While the chops were simmering, I sauteed the mushrooms (doubled the amount) and onions in a small skillet in 2 tsp of butter, and added them to the chops with about 5 minutes left in the cooking. The result was delicious - my husband gave it 'the highest stars.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I am so glad I found it; my boyfriend and I love it! The garlic makes it soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Good flavor; an easy recipe to follow and very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
We liked this recipe. I used 32 ounces of mushrooms and the same amount of Worsestershire and water. I browned then removed the chops adding them once again after the vegetables were cooked. I then cooked the pork for 10 minutes and thickened the sauce with flour to go over rice. Served with fresh green beans and baked bread. Easy to prepare. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MITZI8
Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
loved it, i added a little more garlic (minced) and some extra worcestershire sauce! But overall loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Good flavor for the pork! Left out the onions and mushrooms due to time constraints but otherwise pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan, Utah, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I think this was very tasty and my meat stayed moist. I'll use the left overs for a casserole. It's a great seasoning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, New York, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Loved it, loved it, loved it. so easy and quick to make and my husband was sucking bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States