Royal Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I used to have this recipe along time ago but lost it. To all those who insist on adding flour to the top. It's not a 'crumb cake", it's a coffee cake. There's several versions of this cake with the crumbs. So, don't add the flour to this one. Adding walnuts to the top mixture is also good. Then sprinkle mixture on top, then take a knife and make a few S patterns as would for a marble cake. I would recommend using buttermilk instead of milk or add vinegar to the milk or use 'light' sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I’m not sure I would have rated this four stars had I not made some fairly dramatic changes to the recipe. I did NOT expect a “topping” so laden with butter it was downright soupy. No way were you going to “sprinkle” this. I had to add flour to make it a streusel topping – a half cup did the trick, although I think reducing the sugar by about 1/4 cup would have made this even better. I can’t help but think that since the submitter instructs that you SPRINKLE the topping over the rhubarb, something is amiss. Either there’s an error in the amount of butter, OR flour was meant to be added and was somehow overlooked. As for the batter, because I had it to use, and because I LOVE using it because I know what it does for the taste, texture and moistness factor, I used buttermilk rather than milk. However, that substitution isn’t as easy as that – in order to adjust the balance of alkali to acid when substituting buttermilk for milk I reduced the baking powder to 1 tsp. while at the same time adding 1/2 tsp. of baking soda (which is 4 times as powerful as baking powder!) The final result (a true experiment that luckily panned out) thoroughly pleased me. The cake had a moist crumb that was more light and fluffy than dense. As expected, the buttermilk contributed its characteristic tenderness and moisture. As for the topping, it still wasn’t perfect but adding the 1/2 cup flour saved it. Again, I think reducing the sugar by 1/4 cup just might have made this perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
fabulous! even when i forgot to put the topping on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was great, albeit unhealthy, but what can you expect! :) I followed the recipe exactly until I got to the end. After combining the brown sugar/cinnamon/butter - the consistency was quite concerning. After a quick look in the reviews, I added about 1/2 cup flour and that worked perfectly. I might try adding oatmeal next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
love it! Why called Coffee when there's no coffee though?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Well, my mom wasn't paying attention and mixed the rhubarb in with the cake mixture. So we just put it in the baking pan and I put some strawberry puree we had made before on the top before the crumble topping. We did add some flour to the crumble topping like others suggested. Really good. I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
The cake came out excellent - really moist and not too sweet. A great staple recipe to make with any fruit, or as some reviewers said you can add spices to add some kick if desired. I will definately be using this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Good but needs more spices. I added allspice and cinnamon to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Great cake. Nice and moist. Other reviewer said to add flour, I didn't first time I made this, but making it today and I will, however only a tablespoon to make it less liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was a great recipe that went over well at church. HOWEVER, I think that the topping needs 3/4 to 1 cup of flour added to make it like a streusel topping. As it is written, I can't see how you could ever sprinkle it over the cake! I worked in a bakery for several years....add the flour!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States