Royal Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My mom and i used to decorate cakes for wedddings. She used this recipe all the time for the fine details used on the cakes. Her tip was to use a drop of blue food colouring to keep the icing a brilliant white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dr. Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This is the first time i tried royal icing n it turned out pretty good. i used it to decorate my cookies n the icing hardened well in the fridge. but smelled of raw eggs which was a turn off. even the guests noticed which was very embarrassing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Royal icing is generally used to make decorations on cakes and to "cement" decorations together, and is not recommended for icing cakes. I did use this recipe as I was out of meringue powder and it turned out pretty decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
Perfect for making roses that need to withstand though stuff, also perfect for decorating sugar (scene) eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This recepie was not good at all. I tried it and it came out too sost for Icing. Plus it was way to sugary If I were you I wouldnt try this Recepie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
recipe din't make up well for me- too loose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
We loved this frosting. We did subsitute almond extract for the lemon. It took several hours or over night to set frosting completley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I agree with a number of the other reviews. This icing was okay, although it was a bit loose, so to get it to set, I used quite a lot of sugar. As a result, it was very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krystle
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Absolutely amazing for decorating cookies and so easy to make however it doesn't work very well for holding things together. The outside get's crusty but the inside (if using a thicker coat) stays soft. I added a touch of pure orange extract to get rid of the raw egg smell and the added flavour gave the icing a citrus taste which was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Came out awesome. i didnt have to use as much sugar as the recipe called for and came out as thick as i needed it to. used it to ice our cookies and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States