Royal Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Came out awesome. i didnt have to use as much sugar as the recipe called for and came out as thick as i needed it to. used it to ice our cookies and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Like the others, I did have to add a lot more sugar than the recipe states, but it tasted great even with the extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smile5210

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I agree with a number of the other reviews. This icing was okay, although it was a bit loose, so to get it to set, I used quite a lot of sugar. As a result, it was very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My mom and i used to decorate cakes for wedddings. She used this recipe all the time for the fine details used on the cakes. Her tip was to use a drop of blue food colouring to keep the icing a brilliant white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dr. Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This is the first time i tried royal icing n it turned out pretty good. i used it to decorate my cookies n the icing hardened well in the fridge. but smelled of raw eggs which was a turn off. even the guests noticed which was very embarrassing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. Baker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Icing came out good. I'm not much of an expert when it comes to decorating though. I don't know why the others batches came out to thin if anything I could of put a tbsp or two of water in my batch to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Three Rivers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This recepie was not good at all. I tried it and it came out too sost for Icing. Plus it was way to sugary If I were you I wouldnt try this Recepie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Royal icing is generally used to make decorations on cakes and to "cement" decorations together, and is not recommended for icing cakes. I did use this recipe as I was out of meringue powder and it turned out pretty decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
recipe din't make up well for me- too loose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
Perfect for making roses that need to withstand though stuff, also perfect for decorating sugar (scene) eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States