Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by bruinbear
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
worked great for my gingerbread dudes!!! easy to make and keeps in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I pastuerized the eggs first by placing them in 140 *F water for 3 1/2 minutes. I added the cream of tarter to the egg whites and beat them together, then beat in the sugar and 1/4 tsp vanilla. If your icing is runny and a smaller yield it is because you haven't beaten it long enough. I beat it for 7 minutes. I used this for icing cookies, so I thinned it with water-- a way to tell if it is the proper consistency is when it is the mark left from a knife dragged through it disappears within 5-10 seconds. It pipes well, even just using a baggie with a hole in the corner. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Easy to make and easy to apply to the cookies. After a few hours the icing hardened and I threw the cookies into gift bags and voila! Will be using this icing recipe for my sugar cookies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Tasted good, worked perfectly as a decoration on my sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Easy to make and easy to decorate with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AK-Willis
Home Town: Fairton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This sets up great. Suggestions: Add the cream of tartar to the egg whites instead of adding it to the sugar. Cream of Tartar is used to help "stabilize" or stiffen the egg whites. Note: I modified the recipe a tad by using 1/2 tsp. of cream of tartar (1/4 tsp. in conf. sugar and 1/4 tsp in egg whites). Use a quart size zip lock bag to pipe onto the cookies, and try adding 1 tsp. of vanilla extract to bring up the flavor a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Perfect recipe! I've used it on everything from cookies to gingerbread houses & it's been perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out as perfect as promised! It was just what I needed for our Christmas cookies. It dried within an hour of frosting them, and held on to all our sprinkles and stars! I added a little vanilla extract and lemon extract- very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
very easy and doesn't taste too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a great icing. We ended up with too much though because I went with the reviews that it doesn't make much. I whipped mine for quite awhile because I was distracted and got more than 4 cups. Our gingerbread house turned out perfect though. I didn't even have to wait for the walls and roof to dry before we were able to decorate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States