Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
We used this recipe for our graham cracker houses and it worked out great! I would love a icing recipe that doesn't require separating eggs though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Tasty and became very hard. Perfect for gingerbread houses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong - measured carefully - but I found this too thick to pipe onto gingerbread cookies. Added an egg white and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was perfect for making gingerbread houses! It was easy to make and held everything in place. I added color to some of it and it still turned out great. It tasted fine, but next time I will probably use the suggestion of other reviewers and add a little bit of vanilla. I think that would make it taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Runnergirl
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I used this on gingerbread men. I divided and made seperate colors and some just with the white outlining. I added vanilla as one reviewer suggested. I mixed the cream of tartar and egg white together than slowing added confectioner sugar to my desired consistancy. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great icing, I used for piping as the recipe goes but then dilluted with water to flood the cookie. Dried smooth, hard and sweet, I added vanilla for extra flavor and this did nothing to the color or texture. It was a good frosting for adding color to as it is easy to blend, be sure to let dry Completely before stacking or icing over with another color! Great for my needs! Would get 5 stars however the recipe as it stands I think needs a flavoring like vanilla, orange or something for added taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dillingham, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Made as instructed, except that I halved it because it was just my daughter making one small house. I used powdered sugar, if that makes a difference. I added several drops of thick food coloring GEL, and it did not affect the consistency whatsoever. This held up very well, and dried in about an hour, so that she could start decorating. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was perfect for piping onto my gingerbread cookies and tastes great. I even use this recipe for decorating my cakes because it is so easy to make and use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is an excellent, easy Royal Icing recipe. It mixes up within 5 minutes and hardens quickly. A downside to royal icing is that it typically does not taste very good. That isn't the 'fault' of this recipe but a trait of royal icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This recipe works really, really well. I used pasteurized egg whites, instead of raw eggs. I will definitely use it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States