Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was perfect for making gingerbread houses! It was easy to make and held everything in place. I added color to some of it and it still turned out great. It tasted fine, but next time I will probably use the suggestion of other reviewers and add a little bit of vanilla. I think that would make it taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Runnergirl
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I used this on gingerbread men. I divided and made seperate colors and some just with the white outlining. I added vanilla as one reviewer suggested. I mixed the cream of tartar and egg white together than slowing added confectioner sugar to my desired consistancy. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great icing, I used for piping as the recipe goes but then dilluted with water to flood the cookie. Dried smooth, hard and sweet, I added vanilla for extra flavor and this did nothing to the color or texture. It was a good frosting for adding color to as it is easy to blend, be sure to let dry Completely before stacking or icing over with another color! Great for my needs! Would get 5 stars however the recipe as it stands I think needs a flavoring like vanilla, orange or something for added taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dillingham, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Made as instructed, except that I halved it because it was just my daughter making one small house. I used powdered sugar, if that makes a difference. I added several drops of thick food coloring GEL, and it did not affect the consistency whatsoever. This held up very well, and dried in about an hour, so that she could start decorating. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This was perfect for piping onto my gingerbread cookies and tastes great. I even use this recipe for decorating my cakes because it is so easy to make and use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is an excellent, easy Royal Icing recipe. It mixes up within 5 minutes and hardens quickly. A downside to royal icing is that it typically does not taste very good. That isn't the 'fault' of this recipe but a trait of royal icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This recipe works really, really well. I used pasteurized egg whites, instead of raw eggs. I will definitely use it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I made this for some gingerbread men at Christmastime & it worked well...I do think I needed a bit more powder sugar to make it the consistency I wanted but it was still great...just keep mixing until it's the right thickness for you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andibear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Well I was going to give this 5 stars but hubby didn't like the taste. I used this for rolled out sugar cookies. I still gave this four stars because I liked the way it worked with the sugar cookies. My hubby suggested adding vanilla to add more flavor but that could turn a white icing a brown?!? And my kids loved the taste of the icing without alterations. So we will try the vanilla next time and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkharder73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I personally hate the taste of this - it's just what I would imagine super sweet gluey icing to taste like. However, it holds amazingly well and dries super quick. I would never eat this frosting, but I *might* decorate with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States