Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
As written, the recipe did not work for me. After 35 seconds of beating the egg whites into the icing sugar/cream of tartar mixture, the whole thing hardened to the point of actually breaking the hand mixer. Once I overcame the horror of this catastrophe, I deftly switched to a wooden spoon and my trusty bicep-tricep tag team to finish the job. I needed to add the juice of one fresh lemon to add enough moisture to be able to reach a decent consistency. Not a great recipe, but thanks for the new muscle training regimen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Perfect for cookies!! Added a touch of vanilla (for sugar cookies) and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Worked perfectly on our graham cracker gingerbread house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
great icing! used it for cookies, was easy to make and worked very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was the perfect consistency and worked great to assemble & decorate our gingerbread houses. For taste, I would add a bit of vanilla though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Having worked in Gingerbread construction for many years I would say this is the standard 'Royal icing' recipe. To cement walls and roof tiles you want a firm icing. To create 'snow drifts' you'll want something softer. Think about where you're going to use the icing before you add all the sugar. It will be a little thick for piping with a small tip if you add all the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
We used this recipe for our graham cracker houses and it worked out great! I would love a icing recipe that doesn't require separating eggs though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Tasty and became very hard. Perfect for gingerbread houses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong - measured carefully - but I found this too thick to pipe onto gingerbread cookies. Added an egg white and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was perfect for making gingerbread houses! It was easy to make and held everything in place. I added color to some of it and it still turned out great. It tasted fine, but next time I will probably use the suggestion of other reviewers and add a little bit of vanilla. I think that would make it taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States