Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Perfect! Just made a gingerbread house from scratch and used this recipe exactly (made no changes). It came out nice and thick, but still manageable. We propped up the house with can goods to help it set, but started decorating immediately. After about 10 minutes we didn't need the cans anymore. It even tasted good! This will be my permanent royal icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
As written, the recipe did not work for me. After 35 seconds of beating the egg whites into the icing sugar/cream of tartar mixture, the whole thing hardened to the point of actually breaking the hand mixer. Once I overcame the horror of this catastrophe, I deftly switched to a wooden spoon and my trusty bicep-tricep tag team to finish the job. I needed to add the juice of one fresh lemon to add enough moisture to be able to reach a decent consistency. Not a great recipe, but thanks for the new muscle training regimen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Perfect for cookies!! Added a touch of vanilla (for sugar cookies) and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Worked perfectly on our graham cracker gingerbread house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
great icing! used it for cookies, was easy to make and worked very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was the perfect consistency and worked great to assemble & decorate our gingerbread houses. For taste, I would add a bit of vanilla though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Having worked in Gingerbread construction for many years I would say this is the standard 'Royal icing' recipe. To cement walls and roof tiles you want a firm icing. To create 'snow drifts' you'll want something softer. Think about where you're going to use the icing before you add all the sugar. It will be a little thick for piping with a small tip if you add all the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
We used this recipe for our graham cracker houses and it worked out great! I would love a icing recipe that doesn't require separating eggs though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Tasty and became very hard. Perfect for gingerbread houses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong - measured carefully - but I found this too thick to pipe onto gingerbread cookies. Added an egg white and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States