Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This icing was perfect...at first. I used it to make my gingerbread house this year because I wanted an icing that would hold up to my heavy decorations. In the beginning this icing was perfect, my gingerbread house came out beautiful and all of my decorations adhered to the gingerbread. However, after a couple of days, decorations began cracking off and breaking because the icing broke off like glass. After a couple more days, walls began cracking off and the whole thing came apart. Needless to say, it was sad and disappointing to see hours worth of hard work become destroyed due to a poor icing recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, beat the egg whites for five solid minutes in my Kitchen Aid, but this still did not work. I warn others about this frosting because it seems perfect, but will leave you disappointed and will leave your effort and hard work destroyed. I wish I knew this before I spent over six hours working on my gingerbread house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
wonderful...just made sugar cookies and used this icing recipe..added sa little vanilla...its perfect..glossy and hard on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Super easy. I didn't have cream of tater so I went online and found that in icings and frosting's you can just leave it out. For best results put cookies that have been iced in the refrigerator or freezer so that they can harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is a great recipe. It was quick and easy to make. I used it to decorate gingerbread people. I did add about 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla and almond extract. It did make a lot of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I halved the recipe as I was just piping some gingerbread men. This was the first time I tried making royal icing. It was fantastic! The icing dried super fast and super hard, really wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
We made this recipe today so my kids can decorate their homemade gingerbread house.i was a little worried since we always have problems getting the houses to stay together.let me say this was amazing.i did not have cream of tart so I used 1tps of baking power.the recipe was so easy and it held our house together with no problems.will be using this every Christmas for our houses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I love this recipe and it is definitely a keeper! Frosted gingerbread cookies with it and it was delicious! I put it into bags as shown in the picture and it was a little harder to squeeze out than normal frosting, but my 4 and 5 year old boys did it and loved every minute of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Works great. Make sure to beat it a good long time with a powerful mixer to get air into the icing and thicken it. I love some lemon juice and vanilla in it for flavor, but have to add some more sugar to make up for the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This recipe is great! I did add a little bit more butter/sugar for taste but otherwise they baked up soft and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Perfect for a gingerbread house, holds it all together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2000kitties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States