Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This recipe is fast fast fast. We made graham cracker houses and it was thick like glue. I actually assembled the houses with sugar melted in a small omlete pan. It works like hot glue if you would like to try it. Just put the sugar in a small flat pan. Heat on med-high until melted then turn down to warm. dip the grahams into the sugar and they stick and dry within seconds. This royal icing recipe works great for sticking the candy or decorations on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Fantastic. I used 1 egg white, 1 cup confectioner's sugar and 1/4 tsp cream of tartar and the results were most excellent on sugar cookies. The cream of tartar is essential for a smooth icing . For all of you looking for the perfect royal icing, you've now found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I add 2 cups of confectioner sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice to make icing for my cupcakes and it was perfect. It is dry outside and soft inside which is a hit with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Perfect! I doubled the recipe for our gingerbread house, and it could not have worked better. It set up well, and is VERY strong. I remember when I was a kid having such a hard time getting the house to stand up, or the roof to stay on, etc. No problems with this one! In fact, our house has a steep A-frame roof, and we covered the entire roof with overlapping Necco wafer shingles. They are HEAVY, and we put them on with the roof already in place. This icing held it all on with zero slippage. I was very impressed. It tastes awful, but we primarily just make our gingerbread house for decorative purposes, so this is not an issue for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Awesome, awesome, awesome! This works GREAT! I used this to ice gingerbread cookies. This will surely be my go-to recipe for decorative icing from now on. It dries very nice (dries hard so it doesn't get all messed up when you stack cookies on top of each other). And it was SO easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
I was not looking forward to making this and have been putting it off! Needed the recipe for icing for Sugar Cube House Contest in my family. Thought I would get a head start so I would not get overwhelmed with it. EASY to make, thought it would be much harder. Just made it and put it in a zip lock baggie and cut the end off and used it to glue my "bricks" together! Started the outline and was very pleased with the results! Thank you for such a great recipe that makes it easy for us baking/cooking newbies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
tastes fine; has nice consistency; yiels one cup, however, not four, big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I forgot to beat the eggs and just mixed them together. I whipped it extra long then it was just fine. We made candy train with it and it turned out perfect! I didn't have any problem with the icing at all. My husband was concerned it uses the raw eggs though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
Took awhile to dry, but was easy to apply to "gift" cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Easy to make and the kids found it easy to use! It dried well and held their creations together (we used it for gingerbread men).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States