Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I pastuerized the eggs first by placing them in 140 *F water for 3 1/2 minutes. I added the cream of tarter to the egg whites and beat them together, then beat in the sugar and 1/4 tsp vanilla. If your icing is runny and a smaller yield it is because you haven't beaten it long enough. I beat it for 7 minutes. I used this for icing cookies, so I thinned it with water-- a way to tell if it is the proper consistency is when it is the mark left from a knife dragged through it disappears within 5-10 seconds. It pipes well, even just using a baggie with a hole in the corner. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Easy to make and easy to apply to the cookies. After a few hours the icing hardened and I threw the cookies into gift bags and voila! Will be using this icing recipe for my sugar cookies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Tasted good, worked perfectly as a decoration on my sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mms09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Easy to make and easy to decorate with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AK-Willis
Home Town: Fairton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This sets up great. Suggestions: Add the cream of tartar to the egg whites instead of adding it to the sugar. Cream of Tartar is used to help "stabilize" or stiffen the egg whites. Note: I modified the recipe a tad by using 1/2 tsp. of cream of tartar (1/4 tsp. in conf. sugar and 1/4 tsp in egg whites). Use a quart size zip lock bag to pipe onto the cookies, and try adding 1 tsp. of vanilla extract to bring up the flavor a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Perfect recipe! I've used it on everything from cookies to gingerbread houses & it's been perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out as perfect as promised! It was just what I needed for our Christmas cookies. It dried within an hour of frosting them, and held on to all our sprinkles and stars! I added a little vanilla extract and lemon extract- very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
very easy and doesn't taste too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a great icing. We ended up with too much though because I went with the reviews that it doesn't make much. I whipped mine for quite awhile because I was distracted and got more than 4 cups. Our gingerbread house turned out perfect though. I didn't even have to wait for the walls and roof to dry before we were able to decorate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was simple to make, but it was hard to work with and the flavor was kind of strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States