Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Worked very nicely for outlining my football helmet cookies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Perfect royal icing recipe. Incredible glue, and dried nicely. Not yummy, but that's not what royal icing is for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrebeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Awesome recipe. I do have a few tips on decorating. I found this most helpful in making a snowflake design on a sugar cookie. Take a mixture of warm water and confectioners sugar to make a clear glaze. Take a small paintbrush and coat the cookie, giving it a shiny appearance. After you pipe the design on the cookie, again use the warm mixture with the paintbrush to smooth out the lines. Then add the edible glitter. They are simply gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Awesome recipe! Worked Fantastic! I just added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract just for some flavor as I was using this for sugar cookies, and it worked great. I tinted the icing too and had no problems. I even doubles it and had no issues it still came out great. I wanted the consisentcy slightly thinner for 1 batch and just added a little bit, like 1 tsp of water and it was perfecto! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was sooo simple to make, and looked great on my christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was VERY easy to make! To be able to pipe it on cookies, I had to use 3 beaten egg whites instead of 2 to get a looser consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Perfect! Just made a gingerbread house from scratch and used this recipe exactly (made no changes). It came out nice and thick, but still manageable. We propped up the house with can goods to help it set, but started decorating immediately. After about 10 minutes we didn't need the cans anymore. It even tasted good! This will be my permanent royal icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
As written, the recipe did not work for me. After 35 seconds of beating the egg whites into the icing sugar/cream of tartar mixture, the whole thing hardened to the point of actually breaking the hand mixer. Once I overcame the horror of this catastrophe, I deftly switched to a wooden spoon and my trusty bicep-tricep tag team to finish the job. I needed to add the juice of one fresh lemon to add enough moisture to be able to reach a decent consistency. Not a great recipe, but thanks for the new muscle training regimen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Perfect for cookies!! Added a touch of vanilla (for sugar cookies) and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Worked perfectly on our graham cracker gingerbread house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States