Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used these when decorating gingerbread cookies. Not only did it hold the candy on the cookies but it tasted wonderful. I plan to attempt a gingerbread house with it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reynaldo Dennis
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe it was a hit on my sugar cookies at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reynaldo Dennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We just finished making graham cracker "gingerbread-style" houses with the kids. This recipe worked great. I mixed the cream of tartar and powdered sugar in a bowl first and then added the lightly mixed egg whites. After mixing the ingredients with a spoon (so I wouldn't have powdered sugar all over my kitchen), I mixed with an electric hand mixer for about 5-7 minutes. I definitely didn't end up with four cups worth, but the consistency was good without any additions. We didn't have any vanilla extract, so I omitted it. I made one batch as directed and then mixed another 1/3 batch. We had enough for all three houses, one of which was a four-story condo. :) I will definitely use this recipe again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have no experience with icing, but I can HIGHLY recommend this recipe now. It is soooo easy to make, and can easily make more on the spot when I ran out. I chose this recipe because it didn't use carn syrup, and didn't require heating on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Photo by LisaT
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This icing worked out perfectly. I used it to decorate the arms, eyes, nose and mouth on my melting snowmen. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
12-2011. This royal icing recipe has been the best I've tried over the years. Each Christmas, the kids decorate a gingerbread house, but the tricky part has been making the walls stick to each other. This icing is really thick and gooey, and the walls went up easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as shown and was pleased with the result. The icing was relatively easy to apply with a small icing tip, and it became easier as the icing bag warmed up in my hands. It's got a mild papery taste, so it's better used as glue or as a piping decoration on stronger flavored cookies like gingerbread, rather than used like cake frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheppardArts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Not the best icing recipe for fine piping tips! Got stiff way too quickly!! Would advise to keep looking for a better recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
It was great on dark chocolate cupcakes and I added a couple of drops of vanilla to mine. This is exactly what I needed. It made the journey in the car to Mom's house better than a softer frosting would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntLaLa
Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Great Royal Icing recipe, but the proportions are off - I would say this only makes 2 cups of icing (also, not sure where the 64 servings came from).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States