Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I used this to elaborately decorate snowflake-shaped cookies for Christmas. The icing held its form beautifully and tasted fantastic with the buttery sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I added 2T of lemon juice because it is too thick to decorate cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe works great. I don't have much experience decorating cookies, but this worked perfectly. My only thing is that it sounds like it would make a lot, but it goes really fast, so I would suggest making a double-batch. We used this for gingerbread houses and it works great. Amazingly, the kids actually thought it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Foote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used these when decorating gingerbread cookies. Not only did it hold the candy on the cookies but it tasted wonderful. I plan to attempt a gingerbread house with it in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VRDennis
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great recipe it was a hit on my sugar cookies at Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRDennis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We just finished making graham cracker "gingerbread-style" houses with the kids. This recipe worked great. I mixed the cream of tartar and powdered sugar in a bowl first and then added the lightly mixed egg whites. After mixing the ingredients with a spoon (so I wouldn't have powdered sugar all over my kitchen), I mixed with an electric hand mixer for about 5-7 minutes. I definitely didn't end up with four cups worth, but the consistency was good without any additions. We didn't have any vanilla extract, so I omitted it. I made one batch as directed and then mixed another 1/3 batch. We had enough for all three houses, one of which was a four-story condo. :) I will definitely use this recipe again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have no experience with icing, but I can HIGHLY recommend this recipe now. It is soooo easy to make, and can easily make more on the spot when I ran out. I chose this recipe because it didn't use carn syrup, and didn't require heating on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Photo by LisaT
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This icing worked out perfectly. I used it to decorate the arms, eyes, nose and mouth on my melting snowmen. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
12-2011. This royal icing recipe has been the best I've tried over the years. Each Christmas, the kids decorate a gingerbread house, but the tricky part has been making the walls stick to each other. This icing is really thick and gooey, and the walls went up easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as shown and was pleased with the result. The icing was relatively easy to apply with a small icing tip, and it became easier as the icing bag warmed up in my hands. It's got a mild papery taste, so it's better used as glue or as a piping decoration on stronger flavored cookies like gingerbread, rather than used like cake frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheppardArts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States