Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This icing turned out perfectly, and it was quick, even with a hand mixer. I made sure to beat the egg whites before adding them to the sugar. Then I put the icing into baggies, snipped off a corner, and squeezed it out to make decorating our candy house super easy. I also found this tip from another reviewer to be essential: use melted sugar to glue the house pieces together (we used graham crackers) before decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
perfect recipe, I put in a frosting bag and used for my gingerbread house. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Awesome recipe! Love that you don't have to have the meringue powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe was too runny as is, I had to add a lot more sugar just to get it to a semi-usuable consistency. This recipe may be okay for a cookie or children's gingerbread house, but definitely not good for a cake or for a baked item where you need royal icing for more intricate designs and decorations (the icing is not a good enough consistency to dry properly for that). It is a simple recipe, just be sure you know what type of project/icing consistency you will need this for... for me it wasn't a faster route, it actually set me back time wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Love this icing!! Makes all my cookies look beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymummy86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Easy and great on gingerbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I just got done making this Icing.. It was easy and quick... Not sure if it is the egg whites or the confectioners sugar, that gives off that taste... kids don't like it at all. Very unhappy with this.. going to use the method for Italian cookie icing instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamaluvstocook37

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I used this to elaborately decorate snowflake-shaped cookies for Christmas. The icing held its form beautifully and tasted fantastic with the buttery sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I added 2T of lemon juice because it is too thick to decorate cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Danai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe works great. I don't have much experience decorating cookies, but this worked perfectly. My only thing is that it sounds like it would make a lot, but it goes really fast, so I would suggest making a double-batch. We used this for gingerbread houses and it works great. Amazingly, the kids actually thought it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Foote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States