Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
wow. My 8 year old purchased a gigerbread house kit and the icing was not cutting it. This saved the day. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Awesome, awesome, awesome! This works GREAT! I used this to ice gingerbread cookies. This will surely be my go-to recipe for decorative icing from now on. It dries very nice (dries hard so it doesn't get all messed up when you stack cookies on top of each other). And it was SO easy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. It makes the perfect royal icing for gingerbread men, and I plan on using it as the glue for a gingerbread house this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Anna the Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
My second attempt on this recipe was far more successful than the first one... I've learned my lessons. I piped roses of pink royal icing directly on chocolate cupcakes, which made a nice contrasting colors. Love it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
An easy enough recipe that my 9 year old daughter and her friend were able to make on their own. The icing worked like cement on their gingerbread house. It held the sides and the roof beautifully - even with all the candies on it. It is a great recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenlawn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This recipe worked fantastic for decorating gingerbread houses. The consistency was perfect for a frosting bag, after carefully measuring each ingredient. I'm sure it would also work fabulous for a gingerbread house - as it was a nice thick frosting. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Goes very well with gingerbread cookies... made half a batch (32 servings) and that was enough for a full batch of cookies... but we didn't cover the whole cookie. Also, we didn't sift the sugar (sifter was still wet from cleaning after use for our cookies). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess-and-dad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the4taals
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Fantastic! Best recipe I have ever used, we built a sugar cube igloo and it cemented it together perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Cottonista
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Thanks for the great recipe. It worked very well for decorating my gingerbread men. I was glad to find a recipe that didn't need powdered egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Perfect! I doubled the recipe for our gingerbread house, and it could not have worked better. It set up well, and is VERY strong. I remember when I was a kid having such a hard time getting the house to stand up, or the roof to stay on, etc. No problems with this one! In fact, our house has a steep A-frame roof, and we covered the entire roof with overlapping Necco wafer shingles. They are HEAVY, and we put them on with the roof already in place. This icing held it all on with zero slippage. I was very impressed. It tastes awful, but we primarily just make our gingerbread house for decorative purposes, so this is not an issue for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States