Royal Icing III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Works great! I add about 1/4 teaspoon of lemon extract instead of cream of tartar and the kids like it better. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made it exactly as instructed and it was way to thick! The kids couldn't even spread it on their gingerbread cookies. I ended up adding icing glycerine to make it spreadable. Looking back I might have added an extra egg white or something but I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie_1283

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This worked so well at our Christmas party, where we had a gingerbread-making contest. It made 4 houses, and was so easy to whip up in my Kitchen Aid mixer. It took about 6 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is a great simple icing. I used it for decorator cut out cookies. I kept it thick to do my outlining and thinned the rest with milk so i could "flood" the colors within the outline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Wish I tried this ages ago... Smooth, easy to make and easy to work with. I cut the recipe in half and it was perfect for what I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Grabowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and tried decorating cookies with my daughter. It would just roll off and wouldn't hold a shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
5 STARS WITHOUT A DOUBT!!! IF You Don't Like The Taste Just Add A Tspn Of Vanilla Or A Tbsn Of Your Favorite Coffee Creamer And I Think You enjoy The Results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This icing was perfect...at first. I used it to make my gingerbread house this year because I wanted an icing that would hold up to my heavy decorations. In the beginning this icing was perfect, my gingerbread house came out beautiful and all of my decorations adhered to the gingerbread. However, after a couple of days, decorations began cracking off and breaking because the icing broke off like glass. After a couple more days, walls began cracking off and the whole thing came apart. Needless to say, it was sad and disappointing to see hours worth of hard work become destroyed due to a poor icing recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, beat the egg whites for five solid minutes in my Kitchen Aid, but this still did not work. I warn others about this frosting because it seems perfect, but will leave you disappointed and will leave your effort and hard work destroyed. I wish I knew this before I spent over six hours working on my gingerbread house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
wonderful...just made sugar cookies and used this icing recipe..added sa little vanilla...its perfect..glossy and hard on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Super easy. I didn't have cream of tater so I went online and found that in icings and frosting's you can just leave it out. For best results put cookies that have been iced in the refrigerator or freezer so that they can harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States