Royal Icing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is an exceptional recipe. This is the exact consistency that I was looking for great I am going to keep this recipe wonderful thanks Diane S. This is a great recipe if you are looking for a thick consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Thank you, Diane S! I had purchased some meringue powder from Hobby Lobby last year, and I had misplaced the recipe guide that came with it (for piping and flooding). I needed a royal icing that would dry fast, so using a glossy corn syrup icing wasn't a practical option for my cookies today. I did add some lemon extract and paste food coloring, so I had to add a little more powdered sugar to get the correct consistency. It's very important to mix thoroughly until the icing forms peaks. I found some small empty squeeze bottles with pointed tips in the painting section of the craft store. I filled them up with icing and used them to create lines, writing, and outlines. Some people commented that I must have a very steady hand with a piping bag to create intricate and tiny details. Little did they know about my trick ;) I find that as long as your decorated cookies aren't exposed to air, the icing will not get too hard to bite into. Update: I made my cookies 5 days ago and stored them in tied cellophane treat bags. The icing and cookies are just as tasty and not dry or hard. Beautiful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
this icing is awsome...I finally found a great recipe...If you need an icing for your cookies make this one it is fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcela09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
perfect icing for decorating cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This icing worked out pretty well, but I had to spread it with my fingers as it was too thick to use anything else. Maybe more water would've helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I forgot to leave a rating when I used this recipe. To make my fondant bow stick together, I used this icing as the glue. It didn't dry enough and ruined the bow. Oh well. Next time I know better to at least let it dry for a WHOLE day! ***UPDATE*** I used this again for my daughter's castle cake. Works pretty darn good as long as you don't use a huge blob like I did with the fondant bow. ***UPDATE*** Used this recipe for other daughters castle cake. It works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Great recipe for sugar cookie cut outs! It hardens very nicely without there being the gooey middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is a 5 star recipe as far as making gingerbread houses and panorama eggs. It is not very tasty but dries super hard and holds things together like glue. Because it is fast drying, you want to keep plastic wrap over it in a covered bowl and put a damp towel over your decorator tubes when not using. Air will dry it out. UPDATE: I used this recipe to make candy buttons from the 1950's. It's a great way to use up any left-over icing. I suggest drying them at least 24 hours to get them hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
WOW. This is Gingerbread House Superglue... Mine dried rock-hard in about an hour and a half. TIP: If you don't have two sets of hands to hold the vertical pieces together when assembling your house, try using Press 'n' Seal plastic wrap. I put it, sticky side out, over the serving platter I put my house on. The "stick" is just enough to hold the pieces in place as the icing sets, without having to recruit extra hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was the perfect icing for my gingerbread cookies. It was easy to make. I would use this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States