Royal Icing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used this to decorate a gingerbread house, and it was perfect! The consistency is too thick for delicate decorating like piping leaves, but that could be fixed with a little water. The taste isn't great. If using for cookies or something that will be eaten, I would add some vanilla or lemon flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texastwinkie
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Good basic Royal Icing. I did add a little almond extract and added additional water to achieve the consistency I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastwinkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexis T.
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was so simple I was able to mix the icing and put up the house walls within 45 minutes! That's pretty good considering this is my first gingerbread house. The consistency is perfect. I mixed for 9 minutes. Taste wasn't bad either! Can't wait to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaay
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I did not get this recipe from AR, but as a baker and cake decorator I have been using it for years. Royal icing works great for decorating sugar cookies and making flowers and other decorations for cakes. The idea of using uncooked egg whites makes me nervous, so I've always stuck with using meringue powder for my Royal Icing, and see no need to stray from what works in this case. It is very important when decorating with and making Royal Icing that you make sure all your equipment and utensils are grease free, otherwise the icing may not harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Very tasty and very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SouthernMDGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Wonderful for cookies. I piped in the outlines and it was the perfect thickness. I then I used my piping bag to put some in a squeeze bottle, added water and flooded the outline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SouthernMDGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by Kits
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I used this recipe last year to make 3D butterflies and am using it this year on my daughter's birthday cake to make seashells... thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is an exceptional recipe. This is the exact consistency that I was looking for great I am going to keep this recipe wonderful thanks Diane S. This is a great recipe if you are looking for a thick consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Thank you, Diane S! I had purchased some meringue powder from Hobby Lobby last year, and I had misplaced the recipe guide that came with it (for piping and flooding). I needed a royal icing that would dry fast, so using a glossy corn syrup icing wasn't a practical option for my cookies today. I did add some lemon extract and paste food coloring, so I had to add a little more powdered sugar to get the correct consistency. It's very important to mix thoroughly until the icing forms peaks. I found some small empty squeeze bottles with pointed tips in the painting section of the craft store. I filled them up with icing and used them to create lines, writing, and outlines. Some people commented that I must have a very steady hand with a piping bag to create intricate and tiny details. Little did they know about my trick ;) I find that as long as your decorated cookies aren't exposed to air, the icing will not get too hard to bite into. Update: I made my cookies 5 days ago and stored them in tied cellophane treat bags. The icing and cookies are just as tasty and not dry or hard. Beautiful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
this icing is awsome...I finally found a great recipe...If you need an icing for your cookies make this one it is fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcela09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States