Royal Icing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
My friend and I got together before Christmas to do a bunch of baking, and at the last minute, decided to make decorated sugar cookies. We debated on the royal icing, since we'd never made it before, but decided to give this recipe a shot. It's a keeper! It made us feel very confident in our decorating ability, it was quick to whip up, and the cookies looked beautiful and tasted delicious. This icing was a great pairing with the buttery sugar cookies we made. It does start to dry out, but we felt we had more than enough time (and plenty of icing) to decorate about 5 dozen cut-out cookies. Really lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarbean
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I use this recipe in my cake business. It is great, the consistency is perfect for piping and I don't have to worry about raw eggs! Just Perfect, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Frosting is great. Added 1 tsp of vanilla to add flavor. Let sit overnight to set up. Nice and shiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
The way I made this icing I'd give it 5 stars - the way it was written I can only give it a 4. The thing I was MOST disappointed about was the fact that the actual directions are so vague. I have never made royal icing before and I just dumped all the ingredients in a bowl on my first try. The meringue powder clumped up and the icing was horrible to use because clumps of solidified powder kept getting stuck in my tips. I tried it again today and sifted all dry ingredients first into the bowl. Then I measured water into a measuring cup and added 1 tsp. of almond extract - it needed the flavor. I added just a small bit of liquid and started mixing right away and slowly added the rest. It worked out perfectly this time. I just wish more detail had been added to directions for us newbies. The ingredients and amounts themselves were great, with the exception of needing some flavor, but the extract took care of it. Now that I figured it out I will continue to use this recipe. It dries fast - but not so fast that I couldn't add spinkles, etc. Thanks for a great basic recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerLynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
fabulous recipe- i used this to decorate petite fours, and they were simply out of this world! going back to Sweet Apron's comment on the first page of the thread: you can easily avoid grease tragedies by simply dampening a paper towel with regular white vinegar and wiping your mixer bowl and beaters (and other various items, i.e: spatula) with it. that will totally get rid of any grease that has been previously in contact with your equipment. ALSO: let air-dry. much more sanitary and will make your equipment 100% grease-free. =3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vivabonardi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very easy recipe to use. I added water to some of the icing for flooding, and colored some of the others for decorating my melted snowman cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This icing was perfect! I baked sugar cookies for Christmas and used this icing to decorate. We drove 250 miles on Christmas day with these cookies jumping around in the trunk, and the icing stayed on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I_Wanna_Bite!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This icing works perfect for gingerbread houses or cookies that you want to decorate and have them stay pretty as the icing firms up nicely like a candy coating and hardens well. But not so hard that you can't eat it. Flavor wise though, it's not as good as buttercream or something like that. It tastes like powdered sugar really and that's it. I was worried that they wouldn't taste very good because on its own it didn't have the best flavor when I tried it. But when I iced the cookies, they came out perfectly! Will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
great frosting...best for decorating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Photo by Luanne A.
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Perfect recipe. (Also found on the insert for Wilton's meringue powder) This mixed up quickly and easily. We used it for decorating gingerbread houses and it worked like a dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luanne A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States