Royal Icing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used one sachet (= 3 tablespoons) of egg white powder and everything else as per the recipe apart from cutting back the sugar which was only because I was using it for a rather sweet cookie. I also used this recipe to make Mr. Melty the Snowman's icing for Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies. (See my respective recipe review for more details!) This icing was true to its word and very very strong as well! I can't wait to try this on a traditional Christmas cake on top of a thin marzipan layer! Thanks for sharing Kristen! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Love it. It works spectacularly well for putting up gingerbread houses. It's easy to work with, dries very quickly, and the houses are sturdy within minutes. It tastes good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Made batches of this stuff to make little milk carton / grahm cracker gingerbread houses for my sons holiday party - worked like a charm. I had to go to Hobby Lobby to find the meringue powder (in cake decorating section).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
In kitchen-speak, this is known as culinary spackle as it can repair a cracked gingerbread roof, attach a gumdrop sidewalk and suspend marshmallows in mid-air to resemble falling snow. Well, almost. But this stuff is amazing and using meringue powder is even easier than cracking eggs (never did know what to do with the leftover yolks...). Just add a few drops of water at a time to thin to desired consistency to use for flooding or filling in larger areas. Or keep at full strength as I do... never know when one desires a shredded wheat thatched roof....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I know so many bakers seem to really like this icing and I do like the taste and how it is hard on the outside but soft in the middle but I had a hard time using them to ice cookies. I had to heat it up in the microwave in order to get it loose enought to get a smooth finish. Unfortunately it would cool very very quickly so I kept having to reheat it in small batches. Plus the recipe only makes a small amount so I would definatley reccommend doubling it. I don't think I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I bake gingerbread "students" for my daughter's school every Christmas with each childs name on them. This is the first year I have had a hassle free time of it thanks to this recipe! I've made royal icing every year with egg whites and the consistency is anything but consistent. I love using the meringue powder instead and how easy it is to make this recipe. This icing flows onto the cookies smoothly and dries quickly. No more egg whites for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Wortks great and dries hard. I made these lilies a week before I needed them to give them plenty of time to dry, unwrapped the foil bottoms a few days later before using so they can dry as well. The leaves only took 24 hours to dry... The cake is in buttercream and the stamens are un-edible... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Perfect basic royal icing. I've used it on cookies, cakes and making flowers and butterflies. To help for flooding, I use liquid food coloring to both color and thin it out. It works better for me than using paste and adding water. I also recommend using a hand mixer, not a stand mixer, to be sure the mixture isn't beaten past the consistency you're looking for. It's really easy to go from soft to super stiff in the blink of an eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I love this icing for decorative piping on my gingerbread and sugar cookies. Add some vanilla - I used regular (not clear) and my icing was perfectly white. I separate the batch in two - use the icing as is to pipe the borders. Then I add some water to the 2nd batch to loosen it up enough to flow and cover surface of the cookie (usually about 2-3 additional TBS of water). You want a consistency like thick cake batter. Decorate quickly with sprinkles, sugars, etc and let dry. Really pretty cookies. Icing is easily tinted too. I took one star off because the instructions are a bit vague. Sift together meringue powder and confect. sugar. Start with half the mixture and half the water. Whip on low to incorporate - adding the rest of the dry and water gradually. Then whip on medium to med-high til shiny and glossy and peaks form. Bowl may need to be scraped down once or twice. Good solid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I love this STUFF!!!! It works great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States