Royal Icing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Turned out perfect every time. I used this for gingerbread houses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I used this icing for a gingerbread house on Christmas Eve. I doubled the recipe and the first batch I fallowed the recipe exactly and it was like powder crumbs. The second batch I used two egg whites instead of meringue powder and mixed it with the first batch. It was the perfect texture and dried in about four hours. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Easy to make. Great for gingerbread houses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I used one sachet (= 3 tablespoons) of egg white powder and everything else as per the recipe apart from cutting back the sugar which was only because I was using it for a rather sweet cookie. I also used this recipe to make Mr. Melty the Snowman's icing for Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies. (See my respective recipe review for more details!) This icing was true to its word and very very strong as well! I can't wait to try this on a traditional Christmas cake on top of a thin marzipan layer! Thanks for sharing Kristen! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Love it. It works spectacularly well for putting up gingerbread houses. It's easy to work with, dries very quickly, and the houses are sturdy within minutes. It tastes good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Made batches of this stuff to make little milk carton / grahm cracker gingerbread houses for my sons holiday party - worked like a charm. I had to go to Hobby Lobby to find the meringue powder (in cake decorating section).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
In kitchen-speak, this is known as culinary spackle as it can repair a cracked gingerbread roof, attach a gumdrop sidewalk and suspend marshmallows in mid-air to resemble falling snow. Well, almost. But this stuff is amazing and using meringue powder is even easier than cracking eggs (never did know what to do with the leftover yolks...). Just add a few drops of water at a time to thin to desired consistency to use for flooding or filling in larger areas. Or keep at full strength as I do... never know when one desires a shredded wheat thatched roof....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I know so many bakers seem to really like this icing and I do like the taste and how it is hard on the outside but soft in the middle but I had a hard time using them to ice cookies. I had to heat it up in the microwave in order to get it loose enought to get a smooth finish. Unfortunately it would cool very very quickly so I kept having to reheat it in small batches. Plus the recipe only makes a small amount so I would definatley reccommend doubling it. I don't think I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Paterno-Dimartino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I bake gingerbread "students" for my daughter's school every Christmas with each childs name on them. This is the first year I have had a hassle free time of it thanks to this recipe! I've made royal icing every year with egg whites and the consistency is anything but consistent. I love using the meringue powder instead and how easy it is to make this recipe. This icing flows onto the cookies smoothly and dries quickly. No more egg whites for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Wortks great and dries hard. I made these lilies a week before I needed them to give them plenty of time to dry, unwrapped the foil bottoms a few days later before using so they can dry as well. The leaves only took 24 hours to dry... The cake is in buttercream and the stamens are un-edible... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States