Royal Icing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This icing worked well, even as my first attempt at anything other than buttercream icing. It almost worked too well though. I made this for a bunch of 5-7 yr olds to use as "glue" for graham cracker and candy castles at my daughter's princess party. The castles worked out great and we had some elaborate castles and towers, the only downside of using it like this was that after the castles dried it was nearly impossible to eat them without feeling like you were going to break a tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyl Mowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have used this icing recipe for gingerbread houses and cookies for more than ten years. It is PERFECT for the houses, and good for the cookies as well. I just have a question for those who use it for cookies. My only complaint is that the icing doesn't "stick" well to the gingerbread cookies. Pieces of the decorations (eyes, nose, buttons, etc) fall off of the cookies easily. Does anyone have a tip that will help the icing stick to the gingerbread men a little better. I have always wondered if it is the icing, or my gingerbread recipe. Regardless, everyone RAVES over the cookies every year. I make no less than six double batches and they disappear as fast as I can decorate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Almost perfect in my opinion! Will be trying this recipe again. Thanks for sharing xoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Used this icing for my Gingerbread house. It was perfect! Once it dried it went rock hard and I could not pull it apart at all! Tasted great to once I get it off, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Let harden for 6+ hours to make sure it is dry enough to package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Edible superglue! Wonderful for gingerbread houses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Super easy, didn't try out and great to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
So easy and perfect. Keep thicker for piping edges and such and thin out with water (drops at a time) to " "pool". Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This turned out great. I could not find merringue powder anywhere so i used 3 egg whites. It hardened and was very easy to work with. Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States