Royal Icing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Simple and effective. It was very stiff though, so I had to add an extra Tbs of water. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink.in.a.Blue.World

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I just made a tiny batch of this (thank goodness for AR's serving calculator!) for some old-fashioned oatcakes I found in Rock Recipe's blog. The cakes taste just like oatmeal cookies (but I didn't add any raisins or nuts because the kids don't like them) so I decided to look up a royal icing recipe I could size down to ice the small batch of cakes I made. I wanted something with a maple flavor so I added 1/2 tsp maple extract to the icing, hopefully it isn't too much extract. It is drying nicely right now though! Hopefully my daughter will opt for these instead of pop tarts in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CupCakeGirl7
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I LOVE this recipe!! Its not just for gingerbread houses. I used this to pipe cupcakes and they were awesome!!! I'm only14 but this worked perfectly for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This recipe is Fabulous! I wanted a cement like frosting for making houses out of graham crackers. Each of the 14 houses held up for all the kids to make our giant candy town. We had an age range from 2-17 and every house survived! Even the crumbly gluten free crackers! It was a huge success! I did notice the first batch wasn’t as thick as I’d hoped, so I used 4 Tbls of water the next time which allowed me to hand roll the frosting and put it exactly where I needed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Casperson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Gulgren
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This frosting was really fun to work with. I like the fact that we did not have to use raw egg or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great recipe! I've used this recipe several times, all with much success. Please keep in mind that a wide variety of factors will affect how much liquid is needed (and if you used any extracts to flavor it... I like a tad of lemon... this counts as part of your liquid). It is best to add the liquid a little at a time so that you can stop if you reach the desired consistency with less liquid, and keep going if you need more. The last time I made this (for xmas cookies) I needed about 9 tbsp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Great recipe! It held my gingerbread perfectly and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I have tried this recipe and i also tried it the way my mom taught me to and i think the icing holds up better with egg whites instead of the marange powder. The best royal icing is the one made with egg whites, confectionary sugar, and a bit of vanilla essence, and a couple drops of lie or lemon juice to cut the freshness of the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rashannah37
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This icing is amazing for sugar cookies! I added a bit of extra water to get the consistency I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This icing worked well, even as my first attempt at anything other than buttercream icing. It almost worked too well though. I made this for a bunch of 5-7 yr olds to use as "glue" for graham cracker and candy castles at my daughter's princess party. The castles worked out great and we had some elaborate castles and towers, the only downside of using it like this was that after the castles dried it was nearly impossible to eat them without feeling like you were going to break a tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States