Royal Icing II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is the royal icing recipe I use for cake decorating. It is so easy to make, and turns out perfectly every time! Be sure to keep the icing covered with a damp cloth when it is not being used; it dries out very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
We just whipped up a batch of this recipe because the icing that came with our gingerbread house kit was not setting up firmly enough. Thank goodness I had meringue powder on hand. This recipe was perfect! Not only is it far superior to what came with the kit, but it is whiter as well, making the overall visual effect much nicer. Incidentally, I didn't need very much so I halved the recipe and it came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I have made this icing 100+ times and it is foolproof (have a small cookie business). Don't add all water at once as it may make icing too thin for outlines. Always use paste food coloring, too. If you need an icing that is sugary sweet and dries HARD, this is it! Caution: if your bowl or beaters have even a trace of grease on them , this will not set properly. For planning purposes, it generally takes a good 6-8 hours for my cookies to dry sufficiently so that they can be wrapped. In addition, if you do not have a pastry bag & tip...a ziploc-type bag works well. However, it works better if you reinforce the corner of the bag with some scotch tape before you snip the corner off. Just snip off a little bit if you want a fine outline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
889 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Piped well but tasted so-so, even with some almond extract added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe for Royal Icing. Even though I have a good, solid mixer I had to add a few more Tablespoons of water. The icing dries shiny and hard. Royal Icing is never that tasty in my opinion, but I use it as a base for sugar cookies and then use Buttercream to pipe decorations over top once the icing is dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Used egg whites rather than the power and it turned out good. Went well with Gingerbread Men.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Bee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burlingame, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Easy to make and work with - I used a half batch made with meringue powder and it came together a lot quicker, maybe 4 to 5 minutes. Used it to make decorations on a cake. Used gel food coloring and had each color in a separate disposable pastry bag while I worked, figuring it would protectthe icing from the air - no problem drying too fast, and set up nicely when I was done without being too hard or crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This is the BEST icing recipe ever. I didn't use it for gingerbread houses though; I wanted an icing that dried hard and shiny so I could stack multiple cookies together. This stuff tastes great, and dries quick. Works great with food coloring. I put the icing in piping bags (or ziploc bags) and cut a little snip off at the end. Icing holds its form well, so you can do intricate designs. I don't have a hand mixer, so I found I needed to add a dash more water to get it mixed properly. Definitely would reccomend this recipe. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This is about the same recipe I learned when I first started decorating cakes. It works very well for piping and for flowers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was really great. Easy to make. Used for our cookies. It hardened very well but not so hard that you couldn't bite into it without chipping a tooth. Didn't harden up too quickly either but I did keep it covered with a wet cloth just in case. I added different food colorings in it for our cookies. NOTE: The Meringue Powder is found in the Wilton's baking section at Michael's Craft Store or in the craft area at Walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
469 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States