Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This recipe worked wonders for me ... as written. I used it as a glue to make flip flops. Connecting very small flowers onto Pez candy. It held like a charm and tastes great too. It was also my first attempt at something like this so I was thrilled. I see tips in other reviews to tweak the consistency which I'm sure will be helpful. This one is going into my keep for life recipes and I plan to use it for gingerbread houses next winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I wanted to make Christmas cookies with the kids and found this one. This was great recipe. I read reviews and used one less egg and beat it for a long time. It was delicious and easy. I was a little afraid that I would mess up or not like it because of the raw egg, but I ate WAY to many cookies over my Christmas holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMX6BOYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I had to add a lot more powdered sugar and then some corn starch to make it thick enough to glue together graham cracker houses. But in the end, it worked marvelously. Just like an edible cement. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
A great icing to use. We used it for gingerbread houses and it made them very sturdy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Did not harden well enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CountryGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
WAY too runny -it came out of my icing bag like water. Be prepared to either add one less egg white or a lot more sugar. I used this recipe to make snowflakes for a cake and after adding a lot more sugar to the icing, the snowflakes turned out fairly well. I would use this recipe again, although with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Perfect for the 40 gingerbread houses I had to make using graham crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
The first time I made royal icing, it was definitely very runny, but here is the secret!!! The longer you beat your egg whites, the thicker it will be. The solution is not to add more icing sugar! Eggs whites will eventually turn into a thick foam, like shaving cream. You don't want your egg whites that thick, but just keep beating them! Trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This recipe turned out great! A tip I learned from cake school, never use plastic while making royal icing as it breaks the icing down. Also just beat at high speed. It will stiffen in about five minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States