Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This recipe is great! I dries hard like it should. But i actually added another cup of powdered sugar to get the consistency i wanted. (as is it comes out runny) I also added a tsp of vanilla instead of the lemon, and it still came out good. I will definately use this recipe again and often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mancelona, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I used this icing to put together a gingerbread house (made with real, heavy gingerbread) and it worked wonderfully! It hardens quickly so your house will stay together, but you need to keep it in an icing bag or covered so it doesn't dry out in the bowl. Oh, I also left out the extract, which doesn't change the icing at all except for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I used this icing on rolled sugar cookies with great results. Yes, it was a little runny, but rather than adding more powdered sugar, I just used my pastry bag with a small round tip to pipe the icing over the top of each cookie, creating a beautifully finished look when dry. The icing took a few hours to dry completely, but was indestructable after that. Stored/froze well and tastes yummy; the lemon adds a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This was a great icing recipe...I was looking for a keeper to use with my sugar cookies (The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies from this site by the way are the BEST...) This recipe worked GREAT with the pasteurized egg whites that come in a carton from the egg section, I was making cookies for my daughters pre-school class so regular raw egg whites were out of the question. I did add a 5th cup of powdered sugar as I wanted a stiffer icing. Worked and dried beautifully...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
As others have mentioned, it's a bit runny. If you're using it as gingerbread house glue, don't put it on too thickly, or else it takes very long to dry (just like real glue)! I'm thinking that it would be best to use this icing mostly as glue and then maybe a fluffier icing for decorative iced accents. As far as decorating gingerbread cookies, though, it worked quite nicely! You can dip them in it (like someone mentioned for biscotti) or decorate them with it, or both. I posted a photo of my cookies and the initial stages of our very-sloppy gingerbread houses in my Cook's Photos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I was just shy of 4 cups of icing sugar, but I had already cracked the 4 eggs needed to make a whole batch. I didn't want to waste them, so I added them all anyways. At first the icing was really runny, but it started to harden fairly quickly after I applied it to my gingerbread cookies (Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread cookies from this site). Even using your standard ziplock sandwich bag to apply the icing it went on smoothly. I was quite impressed with this recipe overall! I used rum extract (artificial) instead of lemon, but I think next time I may try the lemon or maybe almond or vanilla. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAFFELZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a good recipe. If it's coming out runny it's because you're not beating it enough. I let my mixer go for 5 minutes and beyond until I get peaks. It's shiny and tastes good too. By the way, did you know you can actually freeze royal icing? Just thaw and beat again and it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was my first time using Royal Icing. I found this icing very easy to use for spreading as well as piping. Used vanilla extract and it tasted great. Took several hours to dry completely so they could be packed away. Used to decorate pumpkin cut-out sugar cookies that were then mailed to my husband Saudi Arabia. Cookies held up very well in shipping. Definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieSuz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
This was an easy recipe, and I added a little of my own almond flavoring rather than the lemon and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This icing is really simple and good. When I made it, it was a little runnier than I had expected, but the taste was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNETTA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States