Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I used this on the Soft Sugar Cookies also from this site. Excellent icing! I only did half the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I cannot get over the consistancy of this icing! I was like marshmallow! And the shine was perfect! I'm using it to glue my gingerbread houses together so I added an extra cup of sugar. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This icing was good and the perfect consistency for my melted snowman cookies. :) Such fun!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Finally found the recipe I have been looking for! I knew it had egg whites but wasn't sure what else and yet its so so so easy. For my tastes I used vanilla extract, but I loved the consistancy, how easy it was, and the flavor. This is the one for me forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Great recipe for cookie decorating. I did need almost 6 cups of powdered sugar to make it the right consistency for a piping bag. Tasted great, but do make sure to cover it between uses/colors so it doesn't harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I give this four recipes only bearing in mind now that you can easily add however much sugar is needed to reach the consistency you desire. I was in a hurry and merely didn't think about adding more confectioner's sugar, and this turned out entirely too runny to pipe. Substituted vanilla for the lemon extract, and it was very delicious! I'll definately try this recipe again but with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was my first time making royal icing. It was very easy to make and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rexland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I used twice the amount of icing sugar, and it came out perfect for icing gingerbread men. The original recipe was pretty thin, but from suggestions here, i just kept adding the sugar till it was perfect.. The into a ziplock to use for pipping and perfection! Tastes great too. I'm actually gonna use some of the thinner stuff to ice the sugar cooking i'm making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This ended up being the perfect consistancy for "dipping" cookies to adhere sprinkles or sparkling sugars, but if you wanted to pipe this it would need a considerable amount more powdered sugar. It was waaaay too thin for a piping bag. It doesn't specify what to do with this icing after making, but I always believed true royal icing to be a much, much thicker consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
For gluing together gingerbread houses I had to use a total of 6 C of confectioners sugar, and I probably should have used 7. I can see how this would be good for making a hard glaze on sugar cookies, but it didn't work for us as a glue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States