Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Finally found the recipe I have been looking for! I knew it had egg whites but wasn't sure what else and yet its so so so easy. For my tastes I used vanilla extract, but I loved the consistancy, how easy it was, and the flavor. This is the one for me forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Great recipe for cookie decorating. I did need almost 6 cups of powdered sugar to make it the right consistency for a piping bag. Tasted great, but do make sure to cover it between uses/colors so it doesn't harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I give this four recipes only bearing in mind now that you can easily add however much sugar is needed to reach the consistency you desire. I was in a hurry and merely didn't think about adding more confectioner's sugar, and this turned out entirely too runny to pipe. Substituted vanilla for the lemon extract, and it was very delicious! I'll definately try this recipe again but with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This was my first time making royal icing. It was very easy to make and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rexland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I used twice the amount of icing sugar, and it came out perfect for icing gingerbread men. The original recipe was pretty thin, but from suggestions here, i just kept adding the sugar till it was perfect.. The into a ziplock to use for pipping and perfection! Tastes great too. I'm actually gonna use some of the thinner stuff to ice the sugar cooking i'm making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This ended up being the perfect consistancy for "dipping" cookies to adhere sprinkles or sparkling sugars, but if you wanted to pipe this it would need a considerable amount more powdered sugar. It was waaaay too thin for a piping bag. It doesn't specify what to do with this icing after making, but I always believed true royal icing to be a much, much thicker consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
For gluing together gingerbread houses I had to use a total of 6 C of confectioners sugar, and I probably should have used 7. I can see how this would be good for making a hard glaze on sugar cookies, but it didn't work for us as a glue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
this icing was not shiny at all. The taste also was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blacktulip05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
good! I added about an extra cup of powder sugar to make it thicker for piping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This was my first time making Royal Icing. I made lingerie shower bra/panty cookies and the icing worked very well. I painted the cookies with a silicon pastry brush and the icing smoothed out without a problem (no brush marks). I piped dots around each cookie without any issues. The icing was a little runny at first but once you let it sit it'll thicken. Also I kept a damp cloth over my icing bowl when I was not using it to keep it from hardening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States