Royal Icing I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Used for the "glue" while making an easter edible treat! Worked fantastic...I didn't have lemon extract so I used orange...yummy!!! Easy to work with and hardens nicely! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Perfect icing for my gingerbread men. Like other reviewers said, it made a TON of icing. I decorated probably 50 gingerbread men and didn't even put a dent in the icing. Easily 1/3 it or 1/4 it. I also used a pasturized egg white product from the refrigerator section near the eggs, so I wouldn't worry about the kids. It worked quite well. It may have been more runny because of this - next time I will make it thicker. Hardened up perfectly though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This icing was great on my gingerbread cookies for Christmas...it dried quickly. The only thing I would do is add another 1/2 to 3/4 cup confectioners' sugar after beating the mixture at high speed. After making my first batch of icing, I saw that the it was a little runny; by adding the extra confectioners' sugar, it stiffens it up some. It had a nice light lemony taste to it to, which went great with the gingerbread cookies I made this past year. Also, if you are adding food coloring to the icing, I would add a little more confectioners' sugar after doing that as well...thanks, and I will keep in my recipe box to make in the future! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Did a perfect job!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~canyon~

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This worked well for flooding the cookies but not to write or pipe details-it was too runny even after adding lots of extra powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Perfect for my gingerbread cookies since it dries nice and hard for packing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Simple and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is a good recipe. I do cake decorating and it's a variation of those which use merengue powder (in place of the egg white in this one). Because I had a can of powdered egg yolk in my cupboard, I used that in place of the fresh egg white in this recipe. I figured I may as well try. (water is added to the powder to create the white) I made half a recipe of the frosting and it was plenty for my 4 doz. gingerbread men. Just a tip; make sure to cover the bowl when not using the frosting and also use a moist cloth to put the tip of your bag in when not frosting the men - the frosting will start to harden and it will be difficult to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEVANG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Easy To Make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Perfect for "painting" my gingerbread cookies. I halved the recipe and it was still way too much for 25 gingerbread cookies (completely iced). I used vanilla instead of lemon, although I think lemon would be delicious. I don't need to find a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkysNiche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States