Royal Hawaiian Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
served it cold... bananas were a little more firm than I would have liked. next time will serve warm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Party hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
man, how I was hoping and praying how awesome this pie was going to be...boy I was so wrong. I followed it to a T, and the pie was looking pretty, smelling pretty, even golden just beautifully. I sliced it up for my whole family and as I was taking photos of the piece I had, I hear several yucks and that's nasty coming from my family. I tasted it and WOW, the flavor really was really out there and it's something I have never tasted before nor want to again.....Sorry I don't know how or why but it totally was not very tasteful or pleasing to our taste buds. It just didn't taste right at all. The bananas in pineapple juice with sugar and cinnamon tasted great "BUT" that was before I baked it. Soo Soo sorry, it won't be made again in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
AWESOME!!!!! If you like bananas, pineapple, and sugar, this is a slice of heaven in a crust! Got rave reviews at a Hawaiian 4th of July celebration!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souzan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Very yummy pie! I was skeptical of this, because it seemed too easy, but it turned out great! I accidentally bought graham cracker crusts instead of regular pie crusts, but it worked really well. I do agree with the other reviewer who said that it doesn't LOOK very appealing, however I covered it with cool whip and it got gobbled right up at my luau-themed party :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I used this recipe to enter a Banana Bake-Off at my fair. I received 1st place then won Grand Champion over all the catergories. Since Banana Cream pies aren't acceptable this was the perfect recipe for the competition. I added some tapioca to thicken the pie up a bit. The first time I made it it was really watery. The second time it set up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Different but I think there are better ways of eating banans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This was actually quite good, but must have looked unappetizing because hardly anyone tried it. This would be better at a dinner where you are the sole provider of desserts, rather than at a potluck. If it's the only option, people will try it and like it. If not, it may get skipped over. Oh well, more for me to take home and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This is a very tasty pie. I would recommend not trying to serve it warm-- too runny. I wouldn't even cut it until it has chilled in the fridge for 24 hours. The 2nd day it had really gelled and was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Excellent. I served this at a cottage party...Hawaiian theme...and received rave reviews. I baked it for an additional 5 minutes as it seemed quite runny. We had a bumpy road to take to the party. Next time I will try to let it cool with the suggested time. Yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States