Royal Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is an excellent recipe! Loved it! A few things are to be considered though: - If you make this by hand like I did, use a fork to stir and not a whisk. I used my balloon whisk at the beginning and later on bent its handle because the batter gets to thick after the flour is added. It is a very thick and sticky batter so better use something sturdy. - The cookies rise a LOT! Bear this in mind when you put them on the baking sheet. Mine all stuck together. - I used half of the sugar called for and they are still delicious. Next time I might use a bit more than half to get it just right. - I did not use the salt. I never do in recipes. My butter was salted so I guess that evens it out. - I had two sheets in the oven and my cookies needed 18 min. Amazing recipe though! Will make that again for sure. As I say, they are perfect as they are, but would also be good with chocolate chips I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
tasty but subtle, these were a little too buttery (maybe next time would reduce the butter by a couple tablespoons or replace with applesauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
My favorite, my husband's favorite and my doggie's favorite. Let them brown slightly on top. Will still look moist when you take them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is exactly the type of coconut cookie I was looking for - thin, crisp cookies that manage to stay chewy at the same time. I HIGHLY recommend this recipe. Please don't add chocolate chips at first - they deserve to be tried without a strong competing chocolate flavor at least the first time arround.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
EXCELLENT COOKIE! I have been looking for years for a crispy coconut cookie. Because of food sensitivities, I used spelt flour instead of wheat, raw sugar instead of processed sugar, and flax seed instead of eggs, and they still turned out wonderful! My husband is thrilled as he loves coconut cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I made these cookies the other day and I was all excited about them because I wanted some oatmeal coconut cookies so bad. They smelled so good cooking & once they cooled I had to have one. Please review your recipes before printing. 2 tsp of baking soda, 2 tsp of salt & a cup butter which has salt in it also was way TOO much salt for these cookies. They were so salty & the 2 cups of oatmeal was not enough. I couldn't even find a piece of oatmeal anywhere. The oatmeal needs to be increased to 3 cups & the baking soda to 1 tsp & the salt to 1/2 tsp should come out much better and sweeter like a cookie should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Ah, so-good, soft and crispy cookies! Were gone fast... Had a little too salty taste, so next time I will cut the salt by half. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These cookies were great. Chewy inside and crisp around the edge. I had some extra coconut, so I increased the coconut to 4 cups. My family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Very Good Cookies:). Extremely EASY to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Awesome cookie recipe! I scaled it down to make 12 servings and I still got almost 50 little 1 inch raw dough balls that came out to perfectly sized baked cookies. What I did to modify the recipe was add 1/2 cup chopped macadamia nuts and about 1 cup white chocolate chips and I baked them for only 10 mintues and left them on the pan for another 2. SO YUMMY! I think that next time, though, I will add even more coconut as I love that stuff and think that coconut flavor, while very tasty, was a little too subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States