Roxie's Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Nice, hearty, moist muffins. I love that all of the different flavors from the banana, apple, cinnamon and honey work so well together and one doesn't over power any of the others. Also have to love the fact that they only have 2 tablespoons of butter! I wrapped these individually and used them as a post-workout snack on some days. With apples coming into season soon, I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These are great! Only made a couple modifications, used applesauce instead of butter and reduced the honey to 1/3 cup to make them even healthier. Still sweet and really enjoyed them! I used Special K high protein bran cereal so they have a little protein in them as well. Will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
excellent bran muffins, I recently made these and when I opened the fridge to get an apple.....No apple! So I substituted two medium carrots (grated). Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Very good bran recipe. Followed advice of others - applesauce instead of butter and used 2 mashed bananas (no apples). Quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
just Absolutely amazing!!! even better than my regular and amazing "Apple and Banana Cupcakes" recipe from this site. i used raisin bran ceral in place of the raisins and bran, 2/4 cup water in place of milk, 1/2 cup all purpose flour and 1/2 cup oatmeal, and 1/2 cup packed brown sugar in place of honey. I have to say, this recipe is AMAZING and after eating one right out of the oven, i immediatly ate THREE MORE. i couldnt help it! leaves a delcious sweet taste in your mouth without being overly sweet like candy. i think its the raisin bran that gives it the special taste. so much healthier than the normal recipes i make, AND SO MUCH MORE DELCIOUS! these are irrisistable. the key is to mix as little as possible after adding the bran to keep the muffins moist and soft, and fill the cups to the top with batter! try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Delish and healthy too! THe only changes I made was no banana (since i make banana bread a lot) and applesauce instead of butter. I also added a little cloves and nutmeg and wheat germ. Really great and my kids loved them too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is my new go to bran muffin recipe! I love that it is sweetened by honey and fruit only - no sugar! I made 3 changes to this recipe that made a big difference: I added 1/2 tsp. baking powder, which made the muffins a little fluffier, cut the apple into small chunks instead of shredding it, and used 2 tbsp. oil instead of butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I love all the fruit in these muffins! The only changes I made were to add ground flax seed and wheat germ for a nutritional bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
We substituted blueberries for the raisins the first time we tried this recipe. Since then we've made it frequently and always varied the fruit ingredients. I love that I can give them to my kids and feel confident in the ingredients. Perfect for breakfast on the run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These are really tasty, moist, and healthy! I also did not microwave the raisins (just let them soak with the cereal) and I diced the apples instead of shredding. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States