Roxie's Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
2/13Didthesefruitless-untilI'msure welike 'em well enough2make again.Added3/4tallspiceinsteadof 1t cinn,1t bsoda,1/2t bakg powder,2T brownsugar,1/4t salt.Alsoincreasedbutterto4T,whichwasjustsoftened,notmelted-2makeup4thelackoffruit.Ibeat the sugar,honey,butter&eggfirstthenaddedthesoaked cereal(hoping to make it look uniform - kids -, whichitdidn'tuncooked;butblendedinwelloncebaked.)Used1/2white,1/2wheat flours.Ucantastethehoneyin thebatter,butoncecookedustilldo!:D Addedthebrown sugarbyreviewsuggestions,butreallydidn'tneedit. Nice!Ibakedmineabout5more minuteswhichseemed2ongoncethewrapperswereoff.I wasgoing4alittlebrown,browner :D, ontop.The batterwasprettythick.Mynotaddingbanana,etc I'msurecontributed.It wasn't aproblem w baking though.Ithoughtaboutaddingsomeapplesauce,butnotuntiltheywereinthe pan:/ :) Thesearen'tobviously branmuffinsormuffinsmade w cereal.Lovethat!I knewthatcerealwouldn'tbeeatenotherwise.These r good.Thank u,Lisa!E,15 likd(without saying anything)&K,13didn't.Oh!Ialsoaddedaboutahalf tvanilla.Ilovemyvanilla!3/13 Touseupcereal,Ididhalf more(ofabovemeasurements wi-o bsugar)-except butterwhichIused4T;aneggwhite4thehalf egg;& added 1/3c a'sauce.Thistimeaddedanear 1 1/2c blueberries.Good&bad news:12 beautfful muffins,butthehoneyflavorwasmaskedbytheberries. 4/13 BIG NEWS: ALLBRAN has sugar.FIBER ONE doesn't. Tried w F1 & soaked raisins w cereal,forgot cinnamon.Kind of dry & only okay for flavor. No fruit for this girl - this recipe anyway.10/13 F1 w 1Tbrown,no spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Fantastic easy recipe! These make a great "breakfast on the go." I made them with Fiber One cereal (you should blend the cereal with the milk and egg to get the cereal to the right consistency--I used my Magic Bullet blender) and they turned out wonderfully. I made a batch with no raisins for the picky ones in the house, and added an extra half banana. I have also subbed applesauce for the shredded apple, this is easier but takes away from the texture a bit. Very customizable recipe, turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doctormom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
These are delicious! They are moist and soft and extremely yummy! These are the first bran muffins I have ever made and this is the recipe I wil use from now on! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This recipe is really good!!! These tasted way better than I thought bran muffins would. My sister in law keeps asking me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Too moist. Made mine in a mini pan, and the centers stayed gooey. Not a keeper. I did like the honey as the sweetner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Easy, healthy and delicious. I've made this recipe twice. I substituted blueberries for raisins and used about 1/4 of honey, which is plenty sweet for my taste. Family and friends loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
So. Good. Moist, light, and without that chewy texture some muffins get when you don't use oil. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann Tatham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
These were YUMMY!! My 17 hates cereal so I didn't tell him they were made with Bran Flakes, but he LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I cannot stop myself from eating these. It is especially difficult because I keep rationalizing how healthy these muffins really are. The only change I made was to add 1 tbsp vanilla. Also, I simmered my raisins in orange juice for a few minutes before adding them. Unlike other reviews, I did not see a need to add baking powder .... these muffins rose wonderfully. The bake time was around 17 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skonskyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Very moist and delicious muffins! I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States