Roxie's Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I just made these and they are very good. I used Kellogg's Raisin Bran cereal and added about 1/4 cup more raisins. I also used brown sugar instead of honey. Everything else I kept to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
A wonderful recipe. I substitute a jar of baby prunes instead of banana and I'll use either chocolate chips or blueberries instead of raisins. I've also tried this recipe with grated carrot instead of apple and it was still delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This made 18 regular sized muffins. I used dried apricots instead of raisins - they turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
These were quite good. I did not have apple or honey so I simply added an extra ripe banana and 1/2 cup brown sugar in place of the honey. Also my wheat flour had expired so I used white AP flour. I did not plump raisins in water either. I let the egg, milk & bran soak for few minutes then added all ingredients to it, flour being last as not to overwork it. The texture was wonderful-very moist and slightly chewy on outside. Perfect amount of sweetness. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! The only change I made was I added 3/4 tsp of baking powder, per reviewer recommendation. Oh, and on half the muffins, I put a tiny drizzle of honey on the bottom and on top prior to baking; those ones came out flatter and seemed to burn around the edges a bit, and they are sticky the next day, so I don't think I would do that again. also, this was my 13 year old son's first time baking, he made them while I only helped. so the recipe is quite simple to follow. Oh, don't be alarmed if the bran doesn't absorb all the liquid; it will be fine. Also, one other thing I did; we measured out the bran (Great Value Brand) and put it in a ziplock bag, then crushed it with a rolling pin. I didn't want big chunks of bran. My favorite thing about this recipe is it is healthy, and the taste is wonderful! I don't even need to try another bran muffin recipe, this was perfect! 10 stars! Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is my family's favorite bran muffin recipe. We use almond milk to reduce the fat and I cut the honey to 1/4 cup. It is plenty sweet, light and fluffy, and very tasty! My only complaint is that these muffins stick to paper liners, so it is much better to just spray the muffin tins and omit the liners. Absolutely DELICIOUS recipe and is consistently a hit with my two children, the grandparents, and even my fussy husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I've made this recipe three times. It's so convenient and fast, it's replaced my store bought energy bars for the morning. i didn't find a difference if using butter vs applesauce other than the muffin with butter maintaining more moisture after 2 days. Modifications I made: 1st batch - All Bran cereal, golden raisins, 1/3 c. honey, 2 Tbsp applesauce, no butter 2nd batch - Raisin Bran, craisins, 1/3 c. honey, 2 Tbsp Butter 3rd batch - All Bran cereal, craisins and golden raisins, NO honey, 2 shredded granny smith apples, juice of one orange I liked the way my 3rd batch came out. It was still sweet and needed no honey at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Fantastic! I like using twice as much apple and leaving it in chunks instead of shredding it. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Really good muffin recipe. I made them in the evening and got up to only 2 left (and there are only 2 of us in the house). lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
2/13Didthesefruitless-untilI'msure welike 'em well enough2make again.Added3/4tallspiceinsteadof 1t cinn,1t bsoda,1/2t bakg powder,2T brownsugar,1/4t salt.Alsoincreasedbutterto4T,whichwasjustsoftened,notmelted-2makeup4thelackoffruit.Ibeat the sugar,honey,butter&eggfirstthenaddedthesoaked cereal(hoping to make it look uniform - kids -, whichitdidn'tuncooked;butblendedinwelloncebaked.)Used1/2white,1/2wheat flours.Ucantastethehoneyin thebatter,butoncecookedustilldo!:D Addedthebrown sugarbyreviewsuggestions,butreallydidn'tneedit. Nice!Ibakedmineabout5more minuteswhichseemed2ongoncethewrapperswereoff.I wasgoing4alittlebrown,browner :D, ontop.The batterwasprettythick.Mynotaddingbanana,etc I'msurecontributed.It wasn't aproblem w baking though.Ithoughtaboutaddingsomeapplesauce,butnotuntiltheywereinthe pan:/ :) Thesearen'tobviously branmuffinsormuffinsmade w cereal.Lovethat!I knewthatcerealwouldn'tbeeatenotherwise.These r good.Thank u,Lisa!E,15 likd(without saying anything)&K,13didn't.Oh!Ialsoaddedaboutahalf tvanilla.Ilovemyvanilla!3/13 Touseupcereal,Ididhalf more(ofabovemeasurements wi-o bsugar)-except butterwhichIused4T;aneggwhite4thehalf egg;& added 1/3c a'sauce.Thistimeaddedanear 1 1/2c blueberries.Good&bad news:12 beautfful muffins,butthehoneyflavorwasmaskedbytheberries. 4/13 BIG NEWS: ALLBRAN has sugar.FIBER ONE doesn't. Tried w F1 & soaked raisins w cereal,forgot cinnamon.Kind of dry & only okay for flavor. No fruit for this girl - this recipe anyway.10/13 F1 w 1Tbrown,no spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States