Roxie's Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is my family's favorite bran muffin recipe. We use almond milk to reduce the fat and I cut the honey to 1/4 cup. It is plenty sweet, light and fluffy, and very tasty! My only complaint is that these muffins stick to paper liners, so it is much better to just spray the muffin tins and omit the liners. Absolutely DELICIOUS recipe and is consistently a hit with my two children, the grandparents, and even my fussy husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I've made this recipe three times. It's so convenient and fast, it's replaced my store bought energy bars for the morning. i didn't find a difference if using butter vs applesauce other than the muffin with butter maintaining more moisture after 2 days. Modifications I made: 1st batch - All Bran cereal, golden raisins, 1/3 c. honey, 2 Tbsp applesauce, no butter 2nd batch - Raisin Bran, craisins, 1/3 c. honey, 2 Tbsp Butter 3rd batch - All Bran cereal, craisins and golden raisins, NO honey, 2 shredded granny smith apples, juice of one orange I liked the way my 3rd batch came out. It was still sweet and needed no honey at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Fantastic! I like using twice as much apple and leaving it in chunks instead of shredding it. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Really good muffin recipe. I made them in the evening and got up to only 2 left (and there are only 2 of us in the house). lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
2/13Didthesefruitless-untilI'msure welike 'em well enough2make again.Added3/4tallspiceinsteadof 1t cinn,1t bsoda,1/2t bakg powder,2T brownsugar,1/4t salt.Alsoincreasedbutterto4T,whichwasjustsoftened,notmelted-2makeup4thelackoffruit.Ibeat the sugar,honey,butter&eggfirstthenaddedthesoaked cereal(hoping to make it look uniform - kids -, whichitdidn'tuncooked;butblendedinwelloncebaked.)Used1/2white,1/2wheat flours.Ucantastethehoneyin thebatter,butoncecookedustilldo!:D Addedthebrown sugarbyreviewsuggestions,butreallydidn'tneedit. Nice!Ibakedmineabout5more minuteswhichseemed2ongoncethewrapperswereoff.I wasgoing4alittlebrown,browner :D, ontop.The batterwasprettythick.Mynotaddingbanana,etc I'msurecontributed.It wasn't aproblem w baking though.Ithoughtaboutaddingsomeapplesauce,butnotuntiltheywereinthe pan:/ :) Thesearen'tobviously branmuffinsormuffinsmade w cereal.Lovethat!I knewthatcerealwouldn'tbeeatenotherwise.These r good.Thank u,Lisa!E,15 likd(without saying anything)&K,13didn't.Oh!Ialsoaddedaboutahalf tvanilla.Ilovemyvanilla!3/13 Touseupcereal,Ididhalf more(ofabovemeasurements wi-o bsugar)-except butterwhichIused4T;aneggwhite4thehalf egg;& added 1/3c a'sauce.Thistimeaddedanear 1 1/2c blueberries.Good&bad news:12 beautfful muffins,butthehoneyflavorwasmaskedbytheberries. 4/13 BIG NEWS: ALLBRAN has sugar.FIBER ONE doesn't. Tried w F1 & soaked raisins w cereal,forgot cinnamon.Kind of dry & only okay for flavor. No fruit for this girl - this recipe anyway.10/13 F1 w 1Tbrown,no spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Fantastic easy recipe! These make a great "breakfast on the go." I made them with Fiber One cereal (you should blend the cereal with the milk and egg to get the cereal to the right consistency--I used my Magic Bullet blender) and they turned out wonderfully. I made a batch with no raisins for the picky ones in the house, and added an extra half banana. I have also subbed applesauce for the shredded apple, this is easier but takes away from the texture a bit. Very customizable recipe, turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doctormom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
These are delicious! They are moist and soft and extremely yummy! These are the first bran muffins I have ever made and this is the recipe I wil use from now on! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This recipe is really good!!! These tasted way better than I thought bran muffins would. My sister in law keeps asking me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Too moist. Made mine in a mini pan, and the centers stayed gooey. Not a keeper. I did like the honey as the sweetner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Easy, healthy and delicious. I've made this recipe twice. I substituted blueberries for raisins and used about 1/4 of honey, which is plenty sweet for my taste. Family and friends loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States