Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I used Lipton onion soup mix instead of condensed. With 3 cups of water with the soup mix we had oodles of gravy. Quick and easy dish that tastes excellent. Family says "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
This recipe is great if fixed in the crockpot.Some people complained that it was dry. I put the cut up steak in the crockpot and mixed the 2 soups and water and poured it over the meat.About an hr before serving I mixed 3T. of flour with ice water and whisked it in. The entire cooking time was 7 hrs on high adding flour mixture at the 6th hr. It was tender and the gravy was fabulous!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I make this recipe ALOT! This is the only reason I buy round steak. I sometimes add two can of the french onio soup, instead of a can of water, just to have more flavor, and tenderness. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was delish!! I slightly altered recipe as others suggested and used a pkg of Lipton onion soup mix (instead of can French onion) as I keep that on hand. Also used 1 can beef broth instead of water, and put in crock pot for 2 hrs on high and 4 hrs on low. Meat was tender!!! Did not need to add flour or cornstarch because gravy was a good consistency as is. Also added a few dashes of black and red pepper, garlic powder, and Creole seasoning, so would not be bland. Served with rice and stemmed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I made a 1-3/4# thin round steak in my crock pot.I salt-peppered the steak and lightly dusted both side with Garlic Powder. I threw the steak in a pan with a little oil on the bottom and cooked it on both sides for about1-2 minutes on high heat just to quick brown it. Then I put it in the crock pot and added the 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can of French Onion soup but did NOT add the can of water. I cut up a few slices of onion and spread them over the top. Cooked on high for 2 hours and 2 hours on low. Then I put the gravey in a pan over medium high heat and sprinkled in a couple of tablespoons of flour to thicken. Awesome taste and meat fork tender.There is no way your meat can be dry or tough. This is fool proof. I made mashed potatos and put gravey over it too! If your meat is thicker and the top of it is exposed you might consider adding the water to it, but if it is thinner leave the water out. A much richer taste. Either way you will probably want to thicken it up by whisking some flour into the gravey. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOTTYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
GREAT! This is true comfort food...and it is ridiculously easy to make! All I had was regular steaks (not round) so I wasn't too sure how it would turn out, but it was just incredible! I seasoned the steaks with pepper and garlic salt and then browned them in a little olive oil in a skillet. Instead of cooking the steaks in the oven, I just simmered everything on the stove, covered, for an hour. My steaks were not dry at all...so flavorful!! I only had 2 steaks, so I used 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup, and 1 whole can of the french onion (no water), and added in a 4 oz can of sliced mushrooms. I also added a bit of flour to the gravy at then end to thicken it up. I mixed up some instant potatoes, microwaved some frozen veggies and had an incredibly easy, GOOD, and well-balanced meal.. .and the best part, I only put in about 5 minutes of active work. I will definitley make this again and again when I'm looking for a good home cooked meal, but don't want to cook!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This was good. I used the slow cooker and the meat cooked over 8 hours. I only had a pound of round steak, I used cr. of mushroom and then Lipton Onion soup mix plus 2 cups of water. I also added about 1/2 cup of mushrooms. About 30 min before serving, I stirred in 3 tbl of flour dissolved in water. Served over mashed potatoes. This gravy was very flavorful and this seems to be a very budget wise meal. The gravy will be reused to serve over biscuits on the weekend. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilie Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is a delicious recipe. I used dry onion soup mix and added two soup cans of water, instead of a can of French Onion soup. It's less expensive and the flavor is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Kids & family loved it. Easy! I subbed dry onion soup mix with 1/2 can of milk for the french onion soup. I didn't even sear the meat. I don't think you can tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Good and easy too! Next time I will cut the cooking time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States