Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
this turned out great...someone gave me some round steak and i didn't know what to do with it so i tried this recipe. i did make it in the crock pot...2 hours on high 4 on low. used beefy onion soup mix, 2 cans water, chopped up onions and garlic as well. thickened with cornstarch at the end. meat was good and tender and there was tons of delicious gravy! oerfect with mashed potatoes. a little on the salty side...definitely doesn't need any extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I heated a skillet on top the stove and browned the meat. I mixed the soup mix and cream of mushroom in a bowl with the water and poured it over the meat in the roaster. I added peeled carrots and potatoes and seasoned the entire pan with parsley and pepper. increased oven heat to 350 and cut 1/2 hour time. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy's Kitchen
Home Town: Wintersville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I have made this dish a number of times and my whole family loves it every time. Instead of canned French Onion Soup I always use the soup mix in all kinds of varieties and use broth instead of water. I do bake it on a higher temp and less time, then add cornstarch in the last 1/2 hour (and water if necessary) to thicken the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I found this to be an awesome meal. My family loved this meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Very good basic recipe. I had this in the oven in literally ten minutes. It came out flavorful and tender. I would make this again. There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Wow, this was delicious. We used the "healthy request" cream of mushroom soup and you couldn't even tell the difference! We also added 1/2 teaspoon each of black pepper and garlic, cooked in the crock pot on low for 8 hours-ish. It was SO easy and warm and tasty! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Tasty and easy recipe! I followed the recipe except added some crushed garlic to the soup mixture. I cooked it in a large-ish roasting pan which, because of the size made a thin layer of soup, it cooked the liquid off so the gravy was super thick. I may actually add more water next time for a thinner gravy. Only 4 stars because it was a little salty for me (and I generally love salty stuff), and the meat was a little dry and overcooked after 1.5 hours. My meat said 'tenderized' on the package so perhaps that's why. Next time I'll cook 1 hour or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Ingraham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This recipe is so good and so easy. The only thing I can say is that I used the onion soup mix because I didn't have the canned soup and I also added a little salt to the steak. Don't add salt, the soup provided enough salt, it was too salty. Otherwise, great, tender steak. Ate it over rice. Will definantely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Great use for round steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Only complaint I heard was there wasn't enough so next time I'll double the recipe. (There were 4 men and 2 ladies and everyone would've liked more.) Served with mashed potatoes, fresh green beans and rolls. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States