Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I loved the recipe. I did alter it. I seasoned it with steak seasoning, tenderized it with a meat mallet, dredged it in flour, I fried my steak in a half of inch of oil for 3 mins on each side. Then pat dry excess oil off. Then placed in casserole dish, I then mixed two cans of mushroom soup and 1 jar of Heinz savory beef gravy in a bowl. Stirred and mixed well, I poured it over the meat in cassorole dish. I cover with foil (couldn't find my casserole top) and baked on 350 for 1 hour. Came out very tender, like country fried steak. Served with rice and used the extra gravy to pour on top of rice. Delicious. Thanks for the mushroom soup & gravy combo. Much easier than gravy from scratch and thicker & richer than gravy in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made this for dinner last night and my family loved it. My husband said it was a keeper and my 9 year old who is a picky eater said she would rate this recipe a 5. I had some fresh mushrooms in the refrigerator that I sliced on top that added some more flavor. I also used lipton onion soup mix instead of french onion soup because that is what I had in the house. I will be making this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
this turned out great...someone gave me some round steak and i didn't know what to do with it so i tried this recipe. i did make it in the crock pot...2 hours on high 4 on low. used beefy onion soup mix, 2 cans water, chopped up onions and garlic as well. thickened with cornstarch at the end. meat was good and tender and there was tons of delicious gravy! oerfect with mashed potatoes. a little on the salty side...definitely doesn't need any extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I heated a skillet on top the stove and browned the meat. I mixed the soup mix and cream of mushroom in a bowl with the water and poured it over the meat in the roaster. I added peeled carrots and potatoes and seasoned the entire pan with parsley and pepper. increased oven heat to 350 and cut 1/2 hour time. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy's Kitchen
Home Town: Wintersville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I have made this dish a number of times and my whole family loves it every time. Instead of canned French Onion Soup I always use the soup mix in all kinds of varieties and use broth instead of water. I do bake it on a higher temp and less time, then add cornstarch in the last 1/2 hour (and water if necessary) to thicken the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I found this to be an awesome meal. My family loved this meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Very good basic recipe. I had this in the oven in literally ten minutes. It came out flavorful and tender. I would make this again. There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Wow, this was delicious. We used the "healthy request" cream of mushroom soup and you couldn't even tell the difference! We also added 1/2 teaspoon each of black pepper and garlic, cooked in the crock pot on low for 8 hours-ish. It was SO easy and warm and tasty! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Tasty and easy recipe! I followed the recipe except added some crushed garlic to the soup mixture. I cooked it in a large-ish roasting pan which, because of the size made a thin layer of soup, it cooked the liquid off so the gravy was super thick. I may actually add more water next time for a thinner gravy. Only 4 stars because it was a little salty for me (and I generally love salty stuff), and the meat was a little dry and overcooked after 1.5 hours. My meat said 'tenderized' on the package so perhaps that's why. Next time I'll cook 1 hour or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Ingraham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This recipe is so good and so easy. The only thing I can say is that I used the onion soup mix because I didn't have the canned soup and I also added a little salt to the steak. Don't add salt, the soup provided enough salt, it was too salty. Otherwise, great, tender steak. Ate it over rice. Will definantely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States