Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
have cooked this 2x now. Cut off all obvious fat before cooking. Did not cook in oil, just put in raw. Didn't have the right kinds of soup so I used 2 cream of chicken, added 2 beef flavor packs, poured some dried onions in, heaping Teaspoon of minced garlic, and no water. Used my slow cooker and WOW! Awesome and had tons of great gravy that I didn't have to make or drain fat or anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was sooo good my 3 boys loved this. I changed it up abit an used 2 each of cream of mushroom soup with garlic and condensed French onion. I seasoned the round steak with monterey steak seasoning and garlic powder dipped the meat in flour and browned the meat in olive oil. There was a lot of gravy that I served over mashed potatoes. Excellent recipe. Thanks Annie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This steak turns out very tasty and the preparation is easy. I made it with thin round steaks and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
After 2 1/2 hours, the meat was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I'm writing this down now so I don't forget what I did (grin) - if it tastes as good as I'm sure it will, it'll have saved me from making any mistakes in the future. Only had 1/2 pkg of onion soup mix, so (after dredging and frying up meat) sauted 1/2 an onion. In meantime, rehydrated dried porchini mushrooms in boiling water. Added them and liquid (little over a cup) to sauted onion and cream of mushroom soup. Returned seared meat back to pan, covered, and they're all happily singling along at a simmer on my stovetop. UPDATE: The sauce/gravy was fantastic. The meat, while tender, was horrid . Not changing rating as I'm sure it was because I used tenderized round steak. Don't recommend dredging in flour either as it gave a mealy taste to meat. Next time just use regular round steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Easy prep. Kids loved it! Added extra onion. Will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I used onion soup mix. The gravy was perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I make this in the morning & then my husband puts it in the oven before I get home from the office if we're having it during the week. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The gravey this recipes makes is very good. It's a little onion strong for us but good. The meat I did find to be dry, but very tender. I think next time I'll pound flour into the meat and brown it. The flour will thicken the gravy a bit and then continue to use CAPKO recipes and simmer on top of the stove instead of the oven. I think the oven dried out the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I started with really nice round steaks, about 1/2" thick. Although the gravy turned out plentiful, easy, and good, the steaks were ruined. Dry, even with gravy. Disappointing. I notice that others cooked it much longer, in a crockpot, and maaaaybe I'll try that when I have time; but I needed it done in a couple hours and was glad to find this recipe, but it just didn't work for the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States