Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This recipe was sooo good my 3 boys loved this. I changed it up abit an used 2 each of cream of mushroom soup with garlic and condensed French onion. I seasoned the round steak with monterey steak seasoning and garlic powder dipped the meat in flour and browned the meat in olive oil. There was a lot of gravy that I served over mashed potatoes. Excellent recipe. Thanks Annie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This steak turns out very tasty and the preparation is easy. I made it with thin round steaks and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
After 2 1/2 hours, the meat was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I'm writing this down now so I don't forget what I did (grin) - if it tastes as good as I'm sure it will, it'll have saved me from making any mistakes in the future. Only had 1/2 pkg of onion soup mix, so (after dredging and frying up meat) sauted 1/2 an onion. In meantime, rehydrated dried porchini mushrooms in boiling water. Added them and liquid (little over a cup) to sauted onion and cream of mushroom soup. Returned seared meat back to pan, covered, and they're all happily singling along at a simmer on my stovetop. UPDATE: The sauce/gravy was fantastic. The meat, while tender, was horrid . Not changing rating as I'm sure it was because I used tenderized round steak. Don't recommend dredging in flour either as it gave a mealy taste to meat. Next time just use regular round steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Easy prep. Kids loved it! Added extra onion. Will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I used onion soup mix. The gravy was perfect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I make this in the morning & then my husband puts it in the oven before I get home from the office if we're having it during the week. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The gravey this recipes makes is very good. It's a little onion strong for us but good. The meat I did find to be dry, but very tender. I think next time I'll pound flour into the meat and brown it. The flour will thicken the gravy a bit and then continue to use CAPKO recipes and simmer on top of the stove instead of the oven. I think the oven dried out the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I started with really nice round steaks, about 1/2" thick. Although the gravy turned out plentiful, easy, and good, the steaks were ruined. Dry, even with gravy. Disappointing. I notice that others cooked it much longer, in a crockpot, and maaaaybe I'll try that when I have time; but I needed it done in a couple hours and was glad to find this recipe, but it just didn't work for the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlantic, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Tasty AND easy! A flavorful, simple meal for those cold winter days. I did add some garlic powder before searing in a bit of oil. Put the meat in the crockpot and poured the soup (like others, I used dried french onion w/ water because it was what I had on hand). Served over mashed potatoes. How easy is that? Entire family loved it! Thanks CAPKO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States