Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Made this in the crockpot rather than the oven and it turned out great. Very tasty, very tender. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
this was great!! I followed the recipe rather closely, gave it 2 1/2 hours at 325, and it was just fine. Not filet, not NY stip, but just excellent home-cooked round steak and gravy. I added about 4 oz of sliced canned mushrooms for the luxury, and served it over mashed potatoes with butter, rosemary and a sprinkle of lemon pepper. For an economical, delicious family supper at home, it's ready!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
made this at my in-laws house who unfortuantly know nothing about cooking or proper food storage. I didnt have a can of french onion soup but i did have a packet of a ju, added 3 tbls spoons of butter and 2 cups of water and heated didnt have fresh onion but found some onion powder I used 6 tbs which should equal about 3 cups of onion (a ju packet called for 3 medium onions so I just guessed) used 1 14.5 oz can of cream of mushroom (my in-laws like giant cans of things) other wise I followed the recipe exactly. I will defiently try it the real way next time. I did find it helpful that you can make a quick french onion soup with just a ju, butter, and onion in case of cooking emergency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is the BEST and easiest recipe I've found for round steak. My family loved it. I didn't sear the meat and I used dry onion soup mix too but didn't add more water. The gravy wasn't too thick and it didn't dry out. I used a small glass baking dish so the meat was covered during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
My family loves this recipes. My picky teenage daughter gets totally excited when she comes home from school and smells this cooking in the crockpot. I however, use an cream of soup that I have on hand - 2 cans different kinds; any Lipton soup mix, and 1/4 can of water only. Everytime there is a slight different taste, but always good. I have used cream of onion, cerlery, mushroom, garlic mushroom, lipton beefy mushroom, onion - all turns out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Norton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. The gravy was delicious and the meat was tender. I started out with a 2 1/2 pound round steak that was about an inch thick. I cut it into about five pieces. I brazed the meat with a light spray of olive oil from my Mysto oil sprayer (great device) in a non stick oven roaster. I like others used dry onion soup mix instead of the canned onion soup and the low fat cream of mushroom soup. I put in a total of 2 1/2 cans from the mushroom soup of water. It looked a bit watery, but the sauce came out perfect. Where I changed the recipe is:at about 1/2 hour into cooking, I added three peeled and cut up potatoes, and a couple of handfulls of baby carrots. I also added some dry shitake mushrooms I had. The meat came out super tender, and the potatoes and carrots were perfectly done. The gravy was just great, nice and thick and well seasoned. Next time I might salt and pepper the meat before searing, and I might add some garlic. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Using what was on hand, I combined the small can of French onion soup with a large can of cream of mushroom, plus a big dash of garlic powder for my family's taste. I cooked it on high for 2 hours and then low for another 3. The meat was perfect. I made a gravy out of what was left and its flavor was fantastic. This was a big hit and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathieDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe is excellent and easy to prepare. I made it in the crockpot. I cooked it on low for seven hours. Used the advise of previous reviews: used additional seasonings, and substituted beef broth for the water. The meat fell apart when touched with a fork which is hard to imagine with round steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was a great recipe. I did have to alter simply becauseI didn't have all the ingredients. I used beef boullion, a cut up onion the cream of mushroom soup and it turned out tender and delicious. I did sneak a couple tablespoons of sour cream in too. My picky sons loved it! I made egg noodles for it to go over but I would also make it with mashed potatoes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Not great... not horrible... just ok. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States