Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This recipe was okay. I used dry onion soup and a lot more water to make sure the potatoes were covered. When it was done I added some corn starch to thicken it back up. My boyfriend loved the recipe! I thought is just tasted like roast and I roast isn't my favorite meal. Was very flavorful, though! Meat was very tender, but dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin 'Bower' Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
It was EXCELLENT! My boyfriend especially loved it. And the extra sauce left over made GREAT gravy with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Extremely simple for how good it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Very good, I used a pot roast in the crock pot with a can of mushroom soup and a can of progresso french onion, no water. Thickend it up with cornstarch at the end. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Gravy was good but too thin, so took about 1/2 cup gravy out and whisked in some cornstarch, added cornstarch mixture and rest of gravy to a saucepan to thicken. Meat was OK but little tough, could have just been the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I really enjoyed this and so easy to make. I did make a few changes. I used a can of beef broth and the dried french onion soup with water. I also thickened it up just a bit by adding some flour and milk at the end of the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
My husband liked this and it was easy to make. I browned it in a pan then put it in the slow cooker on high for 5-6 hours. I mixed a can of soup, one soup can of water, and one package of onion soup mix together and pured it over the round steak. It came out very tender and I did not need to do anything to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
My family loves this. I double the recipe and use 2 cans of French onion soup and 1 can of cream of mushroom. The next day, I dice up the leftover meat and add it to a bag of Reames Egg Noodles (frozen food dept.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This recipe is awesome, soo easy and so delicious! I did make a few changes. I cut the beef into very small pieces, seasoned with pepper, onion and garlic powder. I then seared it in a pan with some diced garlic and a bit of olive oil, I also added a small can of sliced mushrooms. Then I baked for 1 hour and 20 minutes. I thickened the gravy with a bit of cornstarch and served with cheese mashed potatoes and corn. It was super easy on prep time and it was delicious. My husband and I had a friend helping us paint and he said we should open a restaurant!!! So, it was definitely a hit with him!!! Thanks, Nancy for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariluh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponce, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This recipe was very easy and very good. I tweaked it just a little, instead of 1 soup can of water I used 1/2 a can of strong brewed coffee and 1/2 a can of beef broth. I cooked it on high for about two hours turned it to low for about four or five hours. Just before serving, I mixed two Tbsp of coffee, two Tbsp of beef broth and Three Tbsp of flour in a small bowl, added this to the crockpot and turned pot to high for about 10 min. stirring every few min., this thickened the gravy just right. I served this with mashed potatoes and a green salad on the side. My wife said it was the best roast I'd ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States