Round Steak and Gravy II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Very good and easy dinner. I seasoned the steak with pepper, garlic and onion powder. Also, I used lipton onion soup mix instead of condensed but did not increase the water. The gravey was thick (like we enjoy) and tasted great but I think next time I will double. The meat was tender and flavorful. I made to sure to bake for the entire 2 and a half hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Excellent recipe. Instead of adding water to dilute the soup I added some red wine. Just added a little extra to a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I didn't have onion soup so used 2 cups of water + onion and mushroom dry soup mix along with a can of the cream of mushroom soup. I also used garlic, chopped onions, and green pepper when browning the meat. I covered the roaster with foil and then put the lid on to seal in juices. This was a great fall-off-the-fork meal. I served with mashed potatoes --- to take advantage of the delicious gravy. I didn't have quite as much gravy as I expected, will add more water next time. To compensate, I made gravy with the browned bits in the pan, water from my potatoes, and a little cornstarch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My Wife and I both love this recipe. I'll use 2 cans of each soup and and a large can of mushrooms for extra gravy, then pour over noddles or brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Kids & family loved it. Easy! I subbed dry onion soup mix with 1/2 can of milk for the french onion soup. I didn't even sear the meat. I don't think you can tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Talk about cleaning out the pantry!! I had no onion soup of any kind and no fresh onions. So I used 1 pkg of beef gravy mix, 2 beef bouillon pkgs, 3 c water, and a generous amount of onion powder instead. It turned out great. As suggested by a previous reviewer, I coated the steaks with pepper, garlic and onion powder, and seared them in olive oil with fresh garlic. I also added carrots the last hour. I baked it the whole 2 1/2 hrs and it was very tender, but I think if I'd kept in another 20 minutes it would have been even better. Gravy was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I bought round steak because it was very cheap. My husband said I would'nt be able to do anything with it. I searched for a recipe and tried this because I had all the ingredients. My husband and kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Yum, yum, yum! At other readers suggestion, instead of the canned onion soup I added 1 packet of dry onion soup mix & 3 cups of water. I also added fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmlionhunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Del Norte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This was very good and very easy. I had to reduce the cooking time as it looked like the gravy was burning on top of the meat. Still very tender and tasty. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This was SUPER good! The meat was so tender that it kept falling apart. Even my picky 7 year old son LOVED it! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States