Round Steak and Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is awesome. I did however, make a few changes. One after browning the meat I browned some sliced mushrooms (one package of the fresh sliced ones). I diced my onions and cooked them with the mushrooms, cooking until all of the moisture was gone. I baked the meat with the sauce and mushrooms and onions tightly covered for 1-1/2 hours without the stuffing. I wanted to make sure the meat was very tender. I then added 1/2 cup more water and then topped it with the stuffing, covered and baked for another hour. This made for very tender beef, a nice amount of sauce with the stuffing it was awesome. Next time I would also add 1 cup of frozen petite green peas when I add the 1/2 cup extra water to the meat and then top with the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
I used beef flavored rice mix instead of stuffing and increased the water to 1-1/2 cups. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I made this exactly as Kelly wrote it, and it was OUTSTANDING! What a delicious dish! This is the first time I've made round steak (other than in a crockpot) that didn't come out dry and icky. I can't tell you how good this was. Just be sure to cover the pan with foil while baking, and you're in for a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
We loved this for an easy fix meal. I used a jar of brown gravy instead of the soup as no one in my house likes cream of mushroom soup. I also covered it for the first 45 minutes so the stuffing would not brown to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
WOW!!! We really enjoyed this. I used a package of onion soup mix instead of chopped onion and beef boullion, and added about 1/3 cup more water. Also covered for the first 45 mins. or so as others had suggested. This will most certainly be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
We really, really liked this recipe, a complete, comfort food meal. I can't wait to make again, just trying to decide appropriate waiting period before I can make for the family so they don't get tired of it. You must try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
My husband and uncle loved this recipe. For a change I added onion soup mix to the flour and after I was finished tenderizing the meat and dipping it in the flour, I added the flour to the gravy mix. It was a bit time consuming, but perfect for a Saturday evening dinner. I will definetly keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMCANULTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
This was a tasty and delicious dish rated a 3 star in our family of 6. Although next time I will spray the bottom of our casserole dish with cooking spray and put 2 boxes of stuffing on the bottom then the meat and sauce on top. Also for more flavor next time we have decided to add sour cream in our sauce mixture along with real sliced mushrooms and a just a dash more salt and pepper to taste. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Very flavorful. I couldn't find stuffing for beef so I used stuffing for pork. The stuffing gave it just the right amount of savory taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzanneM1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Love this recipe! My mother-in-law always gives up tenderized round steak and I never know what to do with it. I have made this twice now and both times we have loved it. I do recommend covering the dish while baking, the first time I did not and the stuffing was rather crunchy. Thank you Kelly for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States