Round Steak and Gravy I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This was a tender and very favorable dish that our whole family enjoyed! Just a couple of modifications...I sautéed the onions in the pan with mushrooms prior to adding the soup mix. I was out of beef bouillon so I used 1 tbs of Worcestershire instead. It gave it a really good flavor! I also cooked the dish in a Dutch oven with the lid on for 1 1/2 hours and served the mixture over brown rice. I'd definitely make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have picked my brain trying to figure out what I could have done wrong with this recipe and have come up with nothing. Except for using tinfoil, I prepared it as directed and it was a mushy brown mess. It LOOKED gross. The meat was NOT tender. It was very salty. With all the good reviews I must have done something wrong??? But I have reread the recipe several times and don't see what I missed. We ended up throwing it out and just ate the sides we had also prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe last night when I had no idea what to do with a top round beef roast. I followed the recipe only changing a few things. With the recommendation of other reviews, I cooked it covered with foil for the first half hour. I also sauteed onions and mushrooms and put them on top of the beef before the gravy/stuffing. My fiancee loved it! Since it's just the 2 of us, we have a LOT left over, but that's not a bad thing! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Good taste, feeds a small tribe. Would make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I thought it tasted like something was missing. I think next time Ill add mushrooms, my 10 year old did not like it at all. I used herb stuffing. I would like to know where I can buy beef stuffing. I don"t believe it exists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debyok

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
very tender when cooked the 2 hours. Added a lb. of fresh mushrooms and more would be okay too. Used dry soup mix instead of cream of mushroom soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Love this recipe! My mother-in-law always gives up tenderized round steak and I never know what to do with it. I have made this twice now and both times we have loved it. I do recommend covering the dish while baking, the first time I did not and the stuffing was rather crunchy. Thank you Kelly for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
okay was something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Easy and a very great taste. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This was a sure pure easy dish. Tastey was UNDERstatement!! I sill make this as again and agains!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States