Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
my mother and i are from the southern part of germany and over there they use the pan drippings with about a cup or so of red wine, bringing to a boil then adding water and flour to the pan to thickin the red wine in it makes for a GREAT gravy and serve with egg noodles,this recipe is a family favorite but the red wine is a must, just makes the whole thing come together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I lived in Germany and learned how to make this there. I use almost the same recipe, but place the rouladen in a brownie pan, add a bit of water, then bake it for one hour partially covered. I do not put bacon in the rouladen and it still tastes wonderful. I have found that it turns out better if you use the really hot and spicy mustard, sprinkle with coarsely ground black pepper. (I like spicy foods, though). Have never used the brown gravy mix as suggested in this recipe. The drippings from the meat-onions-pickles makes a tasty gravy base on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
Try finely chopping filling ingredients and then wrap. Bake 4 to 5 hours in crockpot with gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Can I give it a even 10? This is my second favorite recipe on this site. I do change it to my own and family's taste but follow the basic idea. I make the rouladen as described. Then for the sauce I do a modified Sauerbraten Sauce. I use 2 packages dry brown gravey sauce (we LOVE Gravy) make it to the specs on the package, I add to it about 1.5 tablespoons brown sugar, 2 table spoons Onion Powder, 2-3 Tbl. Red Wine Vinegar, 2 Tbl Worcestershire Sauce, and finally 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of ground ginger... Allow the Rouladen to steam in this mixture to incorporate flavor for 20 to 30 minutes..... I serve over noodles... Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
Delicious!!! My mother is from germany and this recipe is identical to the way she makes rouladen. For nearly 40 years this has been my personal favorite dish. Kids like it too. The pickle provides a unique flavor and works to tenderize the meat beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This is a great classic dish. I served it to some European friends and they loved it. Some may want to omit the dill pickel but DONT as it makes for a great unexpected taste. Thanks Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
My FAVORITE dish even though I didn't know it had a name other than "steak rolls". We use top round steak, sliced thin, secure with toothpicks, brown them in a skillet, place on a rack in a pressure cooker, add cleaned and quartered russet potatoes and cook at 15# for 10 minutes. I then mix the drippings with sour cream for a sauce. Any leftover potatoes (I always make sure there are leftover potatoes) are chopped and fried for breakfast. I have also found that after browning, they can be frozen and later put straight into the pressure cooker, just increase cooking time to 12 minutes. We actually prefer the firmer texture this creates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
the bacon doesn't get cooked and the pickle seemed bitter. I re-did the recipe with marinated mushrooms & coarsely chopped the onion.This made it roll easier and smoothed out the "pickle" tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Junction City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
If you can't find sirloin tip steaks, try using London Broil, asking the butcher to cut it for Rouladin (most grocery store butchers know what to do, but if not have them cut it across the grain 1/4" thick). My German family always used this cut, which makes for smaller pieces, usually 3-4 for a serving. You can use toothpicks to hold them together. Stuff them with whatever pleases you, with variations as mentioned here. Try sliced mushrooms - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I lived in Germany for 2 years and this is awesome! Perfect recipe! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef Rouladen

Discover one of the simplest stuffed meat recipes Chef John knows!

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States