Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
Try finely chopping filling ingredients and then wrap. Bake 4 to 5 hours in crockpot with gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
Delicious!!! My mother is from germany and this recipe is identical to the way she makes rouladen. For nearly 40 years this has been my personal favorite dish. Kids like it too. The pickle provides a unique flavor and works to tenderize the meat beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
the bacon doesn't get cooked and the pickle seemed bitter. I re-did the recipe with marinated mushrooms & coarsely chopped the onion.This made it roll easier and smoothed out the "pickle" tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Junction City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This is a great classic dish. I served it to some European friends and they loved it. Some may want to omit the dill pickel but DONT as it makes for a great unexpected taste. Thanks Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
This was really good. My parents were stationed in Germany when I was younger & my mother's german friend made this for us. My mother always cooked it, this was my first. Now I can get that German cuisine when I want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
my mother and i are from the southern part of germany and over there they use the pan drippings with about a cup or so of red wine, bringing to a boil then adding water and flour to the pan to thickin the red wine in it makes for a GREAT gravy and serve with egg noodles,this recipe is a family favorite but the red wine is a must, just makes the whole thing come together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I lived in Germany and learned how to make this there. I use almost the same recipe, but place the rouladen in a brownie pan, add a bit of water, then bake it for one hour partially covered. I do not put bacon in the rouladen and it still tastes wonderful. I have found that it turns out better if you use the really hot and spicy mustard, sprinkle with coarsely ground black pepper. (I like spicy foods, though). Have never used the brown gravy mix as suggested in this recipe. The drippings from the meat-onions-pickles makes a tasty gravy base on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I love this recipe... although sometimes to shake things up a bit I sliced some green and red bell peppers and throw them in the roll... Excelent Dish :) I've loved this dish since my mom would make it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This gets points for being different. It kind of tasted like a bacon hamburger. I don't think I bought the right cut of meat - which makes a difference. I couldn't find sirloin tip steaks that weren't already cut into chunks. I probably won't make this again, but it was worth trying once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
If you can't find sirloin tip steaks, try using London Broil, asking the butcher to cut it for Rouladin (most grocery store butchers know what to do, but if not have them cut it across the grain 1/4" thick). My German family always used this cut, which makes for smaller pieces, usually 3-4 for a serving. You can use toothpicks to hold them together. Stuff them with whatever pleases you, with variations as mentioned here. Try sliced mushrooms - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States