Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Ok, but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Meek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kirksville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I lived in Germany for 2 years and this is awesome! Perfect recipe! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Can I give it a even 10? This is my second favorite recipe on this site. I do change it to my own and family's taste but follow the basic idea. I make the rouladen as described. Then for the sauce I do a modified Sauerbraten Sauce. I use 2 packages dry brown gravey sauce (we LOVE Gravy) make it to the specs on the package, I add to it about 1.5 tablespoons brown sugar, 2 table spoons Onion Powder, 2-3 Tbl. Red Wine Vinegar, 2 Tbl Worcestershire Sauce, and finally 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of ground ginger... Allow the Rouladen to steam in this mixture to incorporate flavor for 20 to 30 minutes..... I serve over noodles... Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
It takes a while to roll the Rouladen but it tastet sooooo gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
My FAVORITE dish even though I didn't know it had a name other than "steak rolls". We use top round steak, sliced thin, secure with toothpicks, brown them in a skillet, place on a rack in a pressure cooker, add cleaned and quartered russet potatoes and cook at 15# for 10 minutes. I then mix the drippings with sour cream for a sauce. Any leftover potatoes (I always make sure there are leftover potatoes) are chopped and fried for breakfast. I have also found that after browning, they can be frozen and later put straight into the pressure cooker, just increase cooking time to 12 minutes. We actually prefer the firmer texture this creates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
If you can't find sirloin tip steaks, try using London Broil, asking the butcher to cut it for Rouladin (most grocery store butchers know what to do, but if not have them cut it across the grain 1/4" thick). My German family always used this cut, which makes for smaller pieces, usually 3-4 for a serving. You can use toothpicks to hold them together. Stuff them with whatever pleases you, with variations as mentioned here. Try sliced mushrooms - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This gets points for being different. It kind of tasted like a bacon hamburger. I don't think I bought the right cut of meat - which makes a difference. I couldn't find sirloin tip steaks that weren't already cut into chunks. I probably won't make this again, but it was worth trying once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I love this recipe... although sometimes to shake things up a bit I sliced some green and red bell peppers and throw them in the roll... Excelent Dish :) I've loved this dish since my mom would make it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I lived in Germany and learned how to make this there. I use almost the same recipe, but place the rouladen in a brownie pan, add a bit of water, then bake it for one hour partially covered. I do not put bacon in the rouladen and it still tastes wonderful. I have found that it turns out better if you use the really hot and spicy mustard, sprinkle with coarsely ground black pepper. (I like spicy foods, though). Have never used the brown gravy mix as suggested in this recipe. The drippings from the meat-onions-pickles makes a tasty gravy base on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
my mother and i are from the southern part of germany and over there they use the pan drippings with about a cup or so of red wine, bringing to a boil then adding water and flour to the pan to thickin the red wine in it makes for a GREAT gravy and serve with egg noodles,this recipe is a family favorite but the red wine is a must, just makes the whole thing come together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Long Branch, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States