Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Okay meal. Tasty, but we enjoy steak anyhow. Not sure if I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is one of my all time favorite German dishes, i am german and lived there for several years my mom is the queen at this dish. however she cooks hers in a portable skillet hours to get the meat real tender also dresses it with the spicy mustard, chopped onions, and bacon(it really does add great flavor), my mom as well makes the gravy from the broth from cooking the meat, wine and brown gravy mix. we prefer a thicker gravy however it can be made to anybodies likes. we serve ours with potatoe balls, gravy, and red cabbage or any kind of vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
What a unique dish! Growing up we never had any type of German dishes except for the hot potato salad sold in cans. As an adult my husband and I went to a few German fare restaurants and loved the dishes but have never had the pleasure of tasting Rouladen. Well now this has become a standard meal in our house. Even my picky son and his wife ask for this dish as a Sunday Supper. I followed the recipe as written but did my own brown gravy to serve over it. Thanks for a wonderful dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppylover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Excellent! So easy to make andt hey tasted just like my German step-mother's, except hers were larger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Cube steak or minute steak can also be used. I use white thread to tie it up. I keep a spool of white thread in a zip-lock bag just for this purpose. I remove the thread just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I have an American version where I use pickle slices, pre-cooked bacon, and chopped onion. Then I spear several rolls onto skewers to be grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Turned out very good! I pounded the sirloin steaks I had even thinner (covered by plastic wrap). I chopped the bacon, onion, and pickles for the filling. I placed in a crock-pot all day on low. I served with yellow mustard instead of gravy. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IngramCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This was very interesting and pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
football food at it's best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Hans

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States